My Shopping SHOUT OUT for Aurifil Experience

Yesterday, I had the most amazing online shopping experience…

…and today and wanted to give a shout out to an online shop called “Follow That Thread.”

On Sunday, I was updating and organizing all of my AURIfil Mako Cotton Thread colors in my carrying case so that they would reflect the AURIfil Color Card exactly.

I had 5 empty holes in my thread case!  For an OCD shopper like me, that is totally unacceptable!  Some of you might remember that I posted a photo of my thread filled case on Mark Lipinski’s Fan Page on Facebook.

On the search, I contacted some local quilt shops who carry AURIfil and came up empty handed.  (Don’t get me started on one of the shops – I called, gave the AURIfil stock numbers for the colors I needed, twice gave the size spools that I needed, got the confirmation from the clerk, drove a half-hour only to find that, of course, the spools were not the ones I asked for and the wrong size for the case. So much for calling ahead and face-to-face shopping . . . )

Frustrated, I came home and went online.  I simply Googled “AURIfil Threads” and a link for Follow That Thread popped up.

It was like walking into OZ!

Follow That Thread had every color, every size, every price point, and every type.  When it came to AURIfil they had it ALL!!!

I ordered exactly what I needed, paid with PayPal and hit SEND.  Get this:  If your order is over $35 shipping is FREE.  If it’s UNDER $35 shipping is only $2!  I spent $4 just driving back and forth from a shop – empty handed!

This morning as my buddy Bonnie and I sat around my dining room table I got an email from Donna of Follow That Thread.  She wrote:

“Hi Mark,

Would you mind checking on one color you need to refill your Borsa?  Looking at the fb picture, it seems 2905 is missing and not 2847.  I want to be sure you get the right color to fill it in and that is what the picture tells me you need.  Please let me know at your convenience.

Many thanks,

Donna

Follow That Thread”

IMPOSSIBLE!   Not only am I beyond mistakes, but what shopkeeper would look at a photo of a thread case and KNOW I made a mistake?   Well, cupcakes, Donna would!    She was right!  I must have goofed something up somewhere but, out of nowhere. Donna caught the error and wrote to me!

I was flabbergasted!  Bonnie was in shock!

What kind of online shop does that? Our mouths were hanging wide open!  I wrote Donna back immediately:

“ OMG!  You’re RIGHT!!!!   HOW DID YOU KNOW THAT!?!?!   LOLOL  I’m sitting here with a friend and we think you’re a GENIUS!!!!  OMG!  YOU ARE RIGHT RIGHT RIGHT AND YOU SAVED ME!!!  OMG OMG!

I’M FLOORED!

Thank you THANK YOU THANK YOU!!!  xoxoxm

WE are SCREAMING here!!!!!!  LOL  OMGOSH!!!!

Long story, short (too late for that), I just wanted to acknowledge Follow That Thread and Donna and to let you know that if you need AURIfil Thread (and who doesn’t, it’s simply THE BEST THREAD OF ALL TIME) then you know where you can find what you’re looking for.   When I need thread, that’s where I’ll be shopping.

There is NOTHING like above and beyond service when I shop. It means EVERYTHING to me.

Donna’s response?

Hi Mark,

Glad to be of service 😉  Can you tell I LOVE this thread and I know my way around the color chart, hehehe?  I will change that to 2905 and ship it today.

Cheers,

Donna

Follow That Thread”

That’s it, cupcakes.  Just wanted you to know. Sometimes good customer service isn’t just lip service.  Now, go buy some AURIfil!   xoxom

**************

If you’ve never used Auriful Thread. . .

. . .  then you haven’t really sewn!

Why not start off with my BASICS ?

Go to my web site to order YOUR collection — CLICK HERE TO GET STARTED.

Categories: 1

Subscribe

Subscribe to our RSS feed and social profiles to receive updates.

11 Comments on “My Shopping SHOUT OUT for Aurifil Experience”

  1. Machelle
    July 9, 2012 at 3:13 PM #

    How wonderful!! Sounds like a place I need y to check out! Thanks for passing on the information on great customer service. I just ordered some 12 wt for embroidery for the first time ever and am eagerly anticipating it in the mail! I really like the 50 wt and 40wt threads from aurifil fir sewing, quilting, applique etc.and hope I like the 12wt too!

    Like

  2. Noreen Couture
    July 9, 2012 at 3:26 PM #

    Love, love, love love Donna from Follow That Thread!!! She vends at the Bayberry Quilt Show on Cape Cod in August every year. I make my yearly supply purchases directly from her but know I can reach out to her via email whenever I am stuck. Good find!!!

    Like

  3. July 9, 2012 at 3:38 PM #

    I’m blushing and smiling. Follow That Thread is heading into its tenth year this month and one reason why I keep going is to make quilter customers happy. Every project is important and every quilt deserves the best. Ok, not everything is in stock, but I will order anything I don’t have from Aurifil and get it to you asap. Happy quilting, and thanks, Mark. I’m still blushing and smiling.

    Like

  4. July 9, 2012 at 3:55 PM #

    Thanks for giving a shout out for good customer service!
    xxoo

    Like

  5. July 9, 2012 at 8:52 PM #

    That is some of the best customer service I have ever heard of and so worth mentioning!

    Like

  6. frank Warthan
    July 10, 2012 at 6:14 AM #

    Thank you for finding this place, Just wish I had seen it yesterday afternoon. I spent over an hour last night trying to find someplace local and online for Aurifil 28wt and finally found a place in Canada. Have not placed the order yet thankfully. Will def use this place.

    Like

  7. Joyce Ward
    July 10, 2012 at 8:36 AM #

    Is wonderful to know that customer service is not a thing of the past! I will have to look into Aurifil threads and learn more about them. To be perfectly honest I need to educate myself about threads period, don’t have a clue what is used for what!???? Newbie here!

    Like

    • Noreen Couture
      July 10, 2012 at 12:51 PM #

      Give Donna an email…she has a great note size handout that explains what weight thread is good for what project…invaluable! …and in hot pink so I always can put my hands on it!

      Like

  8. Debi
    July 10, 2012 at 11:40 AM #

    This makes me wonder why one should shop at the local shop instead of online if the local shop can’t even provide the correct information when called and the exact details are provided for the item needed. Online is where I’ll go when my local shops continue to let me down and believe me, we’ve lost about 10 quilt shops in Western Washington in the last few years. Customer service makes a big difference.

    Like

    • Jo Major Ciolino
      July 11, 2012 at 7:01 AM #

      Humans are fallible – mistakes are made. Local shops are the bread an butter of any community. (BTW I don’t own a quilt shop.) It is on THEM to have good customer service, but the reason you have lost 10 shops is the move to online shopping. I like to remember that “money is like manure – where you leave it, you fertilize and help things grow.” I buy whatever I can from small businesses and shop online as a last resort. Since no one in my area sells Aurifil thread (that I can find!) I’ll try some online – but only if I can’t find it in a shop in New Hampshire when I am up there tomorrow for a meeting!

      Like

  9. July 10, 2012 at 9:08 PM #

    Congrats to Donna at Follow That Thread for always giving great customer service! Her attention to detail is very long-standing, too. I should know: she’s my sister! Great going, Donna!

    Like

Leave a Reply

The Duquesne Hunky

Growing Up in Duquesne, Pennsylvania

Mark Lipinski's Blog

Where creative people can be themselves. . . at last!

Ravensong's Ride

... a journey of the heart

Glorious Color Blog

Just another WordPress site

Quilt Alliance

Document - Preserve - Share

