Let Your Creative Mojo Shine! December 5, 2012

STAR LIGHT, STAR BRIGHT!

Wednesday, December 5, 2012

Just log onto www.toginet.com for a brand-new,

LIVE, 2-hour

Creative Mojo with Mark Lipinski!

3 pm -5 pm EST    2 pm – 4 pm CST 1 pm – 3 pm MST    12 pm – 2 pm PST

Call in anytime during the live show with your questions or comments for my guests

(877) 864-4869

*****************

CLICK HERE to join Mark’s FACEBOOK Fan Page!

CLICK HERE to follow Mark’s Twitter updates!

CLICK HERE to join Mark’s Pickle Road Studio Posse on Yahoo! 

* * * * * *

MEET MY CO-HOST 

Art Director, Designer, Bon Vivant

JEFF TURNER 

(the One and ONLY Mr. Electric!)

IMG_1767

About JEFF…

Among Mr. Electric’s recent designing endeavors, he’s provided the fresh, beguiling art behind my new fabric line for Andover Fabrics, I CAN FLY!

14168_10151093835240811_903170274_n26651_10151093836695811_696683787_n374872_10151093872715811_1633512665_n387575_10151093868070811_1424106690_n527333_10151093869545811_2055006690_n578990_10151093867075811_1110446556_n

Jeff and I will be dishing on Mojo’s HOT topics!

1. Decorating for the holidays

What decks your halls and rings your bells? Holly, stars, wreaths, snowflakes…we’re all over it! 

MArketdecorations

2. Hostess protocol

(Ain’t talking Twinkies, baby!) Look, when a guest brings homemade food to share at your holiday shindig, are you obligated to serve it?

Loaf_Cranberry-Walnut_01

3. About the film, Lincoln

Eavesdrop on our contentious he-said, he-said about this popular, powerful (Jeff), horrible (Mark) film!

LINCOLN

4. Harder to forgive, or forget?

What makes bygones really bygones?

Forgive1

5. A reminder: The glorious Quilt Alliance auction!*

* AND MARK REVEALS ANOTHER SURPRISE!

I’ve been keeping you posted on the auction for the house-shaped QUILT ALLIANCE artworks. Well, finally, MY QUILT is up for grabs!

$T2eC16hHJHQE9nzEzs5IBQu-rMwYDQ~~60_57

$(KGrHqRHJFcFCj,EsTrRBQu-rKZJug~~60_57

Listen, babies, this pot could NOT be sweeter! Check out my blog post HERE to learn more about what you could win when you bid!

Also, I would LOVE to have you join Quilt Alliance with me. Just go to http://www.quiltalliance.org to join.

6. Mark’s Favorite Family Holiday Cookie Recipes

Yummies you’re gonna want!!
Gram’s Little Round Italian Cookies
anise-cookies-iii-01
Gram’s Pizzelles
pizzelles
White Chocolate Coconut Macaroons
Coconut-Macaroons-300x225

*******

MEET

Quilter, Teacher, Lecturer, Author

KAREN KAY BUCKLEY

Karen-Photo-4

About KAREN…

Karen says, “After graduation from Lock Haven University (a Pennsylvania State Teachers College) with a bachelor’s degree in Education in 1978, I found teaching positions were not only difficult to find, but nonexistent. While my husband was attending post graduate school, and I was working full time in the insurance industry, I enrolled in a quilting class at the local high school.

NMC11235703Since my first quilting class in 1982 I sought every quilting class possible to improve my techniques. In early 1986 my husband was offered an executive position in the Philadelphia area. As an incentive to my agreeing to move from Carlisle, Pennsylvania to a metropolitan area, we decided that I could open a small shop devoted strictly to quilting and quilting instruction. I immediately began to develop a business plan and using my education background, began developing classes and lesson plans.

On November 26, 1986, I opened The Country Quilt Shop in Bucks County, Pennsylvania. The business grew by leaps and bounds. I taught beginners through advanced classes, dozens of workshops and gave many lectures. I continued to attend workshops myself. I used some of these quilters ideas for classes and workshops, and by 1988 began creating my own classes and patterns.

In the summer of 1989, my husband was appointed a position with the government in Harrisburg, Pennsylvania. After selling The Country Quilt Shop, we returned to Carlisle, Pennsylvania. At the time we sold the business I had taught over one thousand students how to quilt and many others on mastering different techniques. I left that aspect of quilting behind me and devote my time to teaching, designing and writing.

HandAppliqueDVD_lgAfter finishing a book on beginners quilting during the summer of 1990, I entered into a publishing contract with the American Quilter’s Society, and my first book FROM BASICS TO BINDING: A COMPETE GUIDE TO MAKING QUILTS was published in the Spring of 1992. My second book, ABOVE AND BEYOND BASICS and my third book, LOVE TO QUILT: BEARS, BEARS, BEARS, were released in December, 1996. Along with several other authors, I worked with Rodale Press on a wonderful book called THE ULTIMATE VISUAL GUILD, which was released in the Winter of 1997. I have written several articles for quilting magazine. My  fourth book APPLIQUE BASICS: FLOWER WREATHS was released in March, 2000.  During the past several years I have self-published several patterns and then my own book called Earthy Delights: The Perfect Finish was released in 2006.  At the end of 2008 I released my DVD, Hand and Machine Applique: The Karen Kay Buckley Way.  I think it is the best thing I have published.  My most recent project has been working with C&T Publishing on a pattern/book called Japanese Garden Quilt.  It was released in the fall of 2009.

I have over 250 quilts to my credit, and my personal work has received numerous awards including eight Best of Show awards. I was voted teacher of the year by the PROFESSIONAL QUILTER MAGAZINE in 1997. My work has been featured in numerous magazines and calendars. I have thirteen cover quilts to my credit (I consider myself very lucky!). One of my quilts was chosen by Senator Wofford’s wife to be placed on display in the U. S. Capitol in 1992, and another was chosen for the same display in 1993.  I have appeared on Simply Quilts and the new AQS show American Quilter.  I have a very busy schedule teaching, judging and designing.

japanese-garden-quilts-fron

Karen Kay’s known for her vivid, ravishing designs…

Houston2012-001-blog2arabesque_lgCarribFloralFantasy_lgCountryTime_lg

We’ll be dishing about Karen Kay’s appearance on this month’s QUILT OUT LOUD!

Screen shot 2012-12-04 at 4.53.50 PM

Jodie and I (plus Karen Kay!) will see you there!

QOL-405-11-2012-week-3F

CLICK HERE for Karen Kay’s website!

Catch this month’s QUILT OUT LOUD featuring Karen Kay!

Shop for Karen Kay’s tools, guides and patterns HERE!

Karen Kay has a BLOG!

Here’s a VIDEO DEMO by Karen Kay!

*******

MEET

Animal Advocate, Author, Nonprofit Leader, Talk-Show Host

CAROL GRIGLIONE

Carol Griglione Headshot 

About CAROL…

For the past 20 years, Carol Griglione, The HSUS’s Iowa state director, has worked on a wide range of animal issues in Iowa, particularly those affecting animal shelters, horses, and efforts to make animal torture and dogfighting felonies in Iowa. Recently, Griglione worked on puppy mill and “ag-gag” bills in Iowa. She worked extensively on the largest case of horse abuse in Iowa’s history.

logoGriglione is the president of Iowa’s largest animal shelter, the Animal Rescue League of Iowa, and is on the board of the Iowa Federation of Humane Societies. She regularly gives presentations on cat behavior, and has a weekly radio show called “Companion Connection” on WHO Radio (Des Moines) to talk about cat behavior and promote spay/neuter and adoption from animal shelters. She co-authored For the Love of Cats: a Hands-on Journey, released in November 2011.

In 2010, the Des Moines Business Record named Griglione a Woman of Influence.

Griglione holds a bachelor’s degree in communications from Simpson College in Indianola, Iowa, and a master’s degree in non-profit management from Drake University in Des Moines. A native Iowan, she resides in Runnells with her husband and their two dogs, seven cats, three horses, and 12 pet chickens.

Carol’s co-authored the essential guide to figuring out our feline friends!

CatsCoverJpg 

Call in and ask Carol your kitty Qs! She’s the expert!

JOhnnyWookiee

18898_10151341670632354_842242995_n

CLICK HERE for the Animal Rescue League of Iowa’s website!

Find Carol’s book HERE!

The Animal Rescue League of Iowa’s on FACEBOOK!

* * * * * *

MEET

Textile Mixed Media Artist, Teacher, Positivity Coach, Speaker

DALE ANNE POTTER

photoDale

About DALE ANNE…

“I, Dale Anne Potter, am a Textile Mixed Media Artist, Teacher, Positivity Coach, Speaker  who lives in a small town in SW Saskatchewan. I came to fabric naturally. My Mom sewed all our clothes and I used to make doll clothes with all the leftover scraps of material. I began making quilts in the fall of 1983. I wanted each of my grandchildren to have a quilt hand made by me and my first grandchild was due to arrive. I made that first quilt without knowing all that much. Once it was finished, I decided to take quilting and hand appliqué classes.

I started by doing only hand piecing and quilting. With a change to a full time job, I decided it was time to consider machine piecing. The progression to Art Quilting came about because I was uninspired by patterns published by others and became excited by creating my own designs. I am inspired everyday by the world around me — nature, its textures, rhythms and colours, the materials at hand, fabrics, paper, found objects, and the movement of life — provides me with the ideas and enthusiasm to create new work. I teach workshops:  from the Beginner to the Artful Quilter, as well as stamping, journaling  and scrapbooking. My artwork has been exhibited locally in Morse and Swift Current; nationally in Alberta, Manitoba, Saskatchewan and Ontario; as well as internationally in Florida, California, Wisconsin, Vermont, and Washington. My artwork is in private & corporate collections in the US, Nova Scotia, Ontario, Alberta, Saskatchewan and Manitoba.”

Dale Anne’s artworks meditate on the everyday…

M4034S-4208sedna-inuit-goddess-of-the-seabirchesM4034S-4208 woven

We’re chatting about Dale Anne’s new project, the 2013 Positively Creative Calendar/Planner and Community!

2013CalendarCover-Spiral

Dale Anne writes, “To help YOU go BIG in 2013 in your life and/or your business. I am EXCITED to offer my 2013 Positively Creative Calendar/Planner to YOU.  I have ENJOYED working on it and hope it will be a calendar/planner that will not only guide you fulfilling your goals or dreams, but also, a business planner for those of you who are in creative businesses. My wish is to guide you through your annual plans, dreams/goals and journaling with POSITIVE quotes, affirmations, prompts, and more. You are free to use whichever pages you would like to use – no obligation to use them all.”

“Positively Creative Community is a community:

  • that has like-minded members (Positive).
  • that members are FREE to talk POSITIVITY until their ears fall off!
  • that has members that are willing to develop NEW habits for a more Positive life.
  • that facilitates life changing moments.
  • that has ALL workshops/programs by Dale Anne Potter (FREE once inside the community).
  • that is a community where everyone can cheer OPENLY about manifesting our goals and dreams.
  • that allows us to CREATE.
  • that has POSITIVE encouragement.”

CLICK HERE for Dale Anne’s website!

Dale Anne has a BLOG!

Find Dale Anne’s 2013 Calendar HERE!

Dale Anne’s on FACEBOOKTWITTER, GOOGLE+, PINTEREST, & YOUTUBE!

**************

And when your MOJO listening’s done. . .

If you’ve never used Auriful Thread. . .

. . .  then you haven’t really sewn!

Why not start off with my BASICS ?

Go to my web site to order YOUR collection — CLICK HERE TO GET STARTED.

Many thanks to Nessa Reifsnyder of Fabricate, for assistance with Mark Lipinski’s Blog!


Reporter_ad1

Listen to a re-broadcast of all of my shows by CLICKING HERE.

You can also subscribe to Creative Mojo at iTunes.com!

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Categories: 1

Subscribe

Subscribe to our RSS feed and social profiles to receive updates.

One Comment on “Let Your Creative Mojo Shine! December 5, 2012”

  1. December 4, 2012 at 5:52 PM #

    Yay! Mr. Electric! Kitties!

    Like

Leave a Reply

Mark Lipinski's Blog

Where creative people can be themselves. . . at last!

Ravensong's Ride

... a journey of the heart

Glorious Color Blog

Just another WordPress site

Quilt Alliance

Document - Preserve - Share

