Bouquet Bombs! Bandana Tablecloth! Easy Applique! Bow Tie Quilt! Custom Rolling Pins! Picnic Salads! July 4th Cake! Jokes, Art, Design & Memories

images-1

PLEASE SUBSCRIBE so you don’t miss a thing

 

ONLY 7 DAYS TO GO !

PLEASE SIGN UP TODAY!

ENCORE! DON’T MISS IT this time around! On Thursday, July 10 from 1 until 2:15-ish PM EST, I will be giving an ENCORE and LIVE presentation of The Slow Stitching Webinar! And, of course, and there will be a LIVE response to all of your questions and comments about Slow Stitching. Sign up today and see what all the buzz has been about, how to get unstuck, and how to ramp your patchwork up a notch for your own, physical, emotional, creative, spiritual and financial benefit. Can’t make this time either? Sign up and a copy of the webinar will be sent to you so you can watch and listen at your own leisure! xoxom

CLICK HERE FOR MORE INFORMATION:

http://www.shopfonsandporter.com/product/Mark-Lipinski-Presents-The-Slow-Stitching-Movement-Creating-Promoting-and-Sustaining-a-New-Vision-in-Quiltmaking/web-seminars

DPWNR61914-1

YOKE DU YOUR (naughty!)

golfing hamster

An American businessman is entertaining some overseas business guests on the golf course.

The first guest, who is from Italy, tees off and hits a good shot 200 yards down the fairway. As the American businessman knows a small amount of Italian he says: “Buon tiro”, which means “Good shot”. The Italian businessman replies: “Grazie”.

The second guest, who is from France, tees off and hits a fantastic shot that lands on the green thirty feet from the hole. As the American businessman knows a small amount of French he says: “Tir fantastique”, which means “Fantastic shot”. The French businessman replies: “Merci”.

The third guest, who is from Japan, tees off and amazingly the ball goes straight in the hole, a hole in one! The American businessman doesn’t know many Japanese words or phrases but when he dated a Japanese girl during his overseas business trips she used to cheer him on when he made love to her and she would shout out “Ura-ana, ura-ana”, and which he repeats to his Japanese guest.

The Japanese businessman replies: “What do you mean, wrong hole?”

ARTspiration

Artists or art that turns me on and feeds my muse! Like it or dislike it, what about this art inspires your own art or creativity?  Umbrellas by artist, Rie Nakajima.

tumblr_lp1f32Msec1qbc9oso1_500

DESIGNspiration

Look around you. Design is everywhere! How can you incorporate the beauty that surrounds you into your art or craft?  Drawer pulls.

hardware1

 

IDEA I LOVE

I really do love this idea for BOUQUET BOMBING.  Now that the garden flowers are beginning to come into their own, I would love to give this idea a shot.  And speaking of shot — given our gun laws (or lack thereof) I would hate to get shot in the ass for trying to sneak up on somebody’s door with a handful of flowers.   Take a look:

http://www.papernstitchblog.com/2014/04/08/make-this-diy-bouquet-bombing-surprise/

bouquet-bombing-diy-surprise-22

IDEA I LOVE

Every table needs a covering at one time or another and July 4th is no exception!  Here’s a super simple idea for using red,white and blue bandanas that you simply sew together and use.  No quilting, not a stitch of additional sewing.  All fun and patriotic theme (even in you live in France or England)!   Take a look:

http://www.madefrompinterest.net/2014/06/4th-july-bandanna-tablecloth/

FB-4th-of-July-Bandanna-Tablecloth-e1402074386887

 

IDEA I LOVE

Applique the easy way.  Love these 40’s fabrics.  They are always so welcoming and crisp.   Check this out:

http://www.papernstitchblog.com/2012/02/29/how-to-applique-spring-time-tea-towel-diy/

papernstitchblog

OMG!!!

My heart just skipped a beat when I saw these engraved rolling pins!  Yes, there are some fun engravings but the real kick in the buttinski is that you can customize a rolling pin — with your own name or design!   I’m freaking out here, kids, salivating on my newly pressed shirt!   Take a look at them all:

https://www.etsy.com/shop/ValekRollingPins

il_570xN.576616033_6rdq

il_570xN.574491376_n7ec

il_570xN.569601088_134g

 

il_570xN.562679927_9bwc

pins

 

 

YUM

coldasian

COLD PEANUT NOODLES PICNIC SALAD

Cook 1 pound Chinese egg noodles; drain and rinse. Whisk 1/2 cup peanut butter, 3 tablespoons each soy sauce, Sriracha and rice vinegar, and 1 tablespoon each sesame oil and grated peeled ginger. Toss with the noodles, 1 each chopped red bell pepper and cucumber, and 1/2 cup chopped cilantro; season with salt.

ITALIAN

ITALIAN DELI PASTA PICNIC SALAD

Cook 1 pound penne; drain and rinse. Mix 1/3 cup mayonnaise and 3 tablespoons each olive oil and red wine vinegar. Toss with the pasta, one 16-ounce jar giardiniera (drained and chopped), 1 cup each diced provolone and salami, 1/4 cup each chopped parsley and basil, and salt and pepper.

BLCK

BLACK BEAN – CORN PICNIC SALAD

Whisk 1/4 cup olive oil, 2 teaspoons honey and the juice of 3 limes. Toss with two 15-ounce cans black beans (rinsed), 1 cup thawed frozen corn,1 diced bell pepper, 1 bunch chopped scallions, 1/2 cup cilantro, and salt and pepper. Add 1 diced avocado.

Read more at: http://www.foodnetwork.com/recipes/articles/50-picnic-salads.html?oc=linkback

WORDS TO LIVE BY

 

HOPE

IDEA I LOVE

You still have time to put together this rustic DIY July 4th all-fabric scrappy banner!  Gather you scraps, your rotary cutter and start a’cuttin’    Take a look at the blog:

http://catchmyparty.com/blog/july-4th-patriotic-scrap-fabric-garland-banner-diy

P1130835-580x332

 

MEMBA?

School picnics

WVTicket

And when you actually paid for what an amusement park ride was worth.

il_340x270.336155704

DESSERT!

INA GARTEN’S EASY FLAG CAKE 

Celebrate Independence Day with a festive starred-and-striped cake from Food Network made with fresh berries and cream cheese frosting.

FLGCKE

Here’s the step by step tutorial plus icing recipe:

http://www.foodnetwork.com/recipes/ina-garten/flag-cake-recipe/how-to-make-a-flag-cake.html?oc=linkback

 

MUST HAVE

A piece of embroidered art by fiber artist, Cathy Cullis

https://www.facebook.com/pages/Cathy-Cullis-mixed-media-art-poetry/103569695771

e27adb9faaded2ff5a170ef5695450ca

 

SHOEspiration

Flatform Googley Eye shoes

http://bit.ly/1pLnSHj

tumblr_n7soa7rYst1qzzzl7o1_500

 

IDEA I LOVE

This is a quilt for a baby or toddler called Baby Bowties by Janeen Getz.   All you have to do is make more blocks to increase the size.

babybowties

Anybody else getting tired of the never-ending  flat looking and uber simple quilts?  I know they’re modern but it time to ramp up the design sensibilities, ladies.   Well, at least the patterns are free and their “designers” generous.  By the way, I do like this quilt (even the color and fabric choices — which is a miracle, I know).  I’m speaking in generalities and not about this specific project.

I digress.  Here’s the tutorial for Baby Bowties:

https://docs.google.com/file/d/0B2MiA9InN7ccbUxHZXF4TFFFRWs/edit?pli=1

 

WHY THIS FORMAT IS NEW: 

I want to try something and I would really like your input on it. For the past year or so, I have been posting up to 20 links per day on my Mark Lipinski’s Fan Page on Facebook. Of course, in its never ending quest to make lots of money, Facebook cares less about you and me and more about cash in spite of the fact they have more money than they know what to do with. As a result, those of you who have been faithful readers of the Fan Page have been removed, time and time again, from getting any of my posts onto your timeline feed. The reason is, Facebook would like me to pay money every day in order to advertise and lure readers like you, to the Fan Page. Otherwise, only about 5% of people who clicked LIKE on the Fan Page are actually seeing anything I post — and it could be random.  Basically, it sucks for all of us. I think we would all be better served if I posted my tips, ideas, links, and jokes, etc. to my blog. You can subscribe to my blog (only if you want) and get an email every time I post a grouping of ideas, links, etc. I’M NOT shutting down my Facebook Fan Page. What I am doing is putting everything that used to be on the Fan Page individually on my blog, AND there will be a daily link to the idea blog on the Fan Page, just as there were multiple links to the various blogs that I’ve always linked to in the past. It’s not that different, really. It will save me a lot of time, and guarantee those who want to see the creative posts will actually get to see them. And Facebookers, will STILL have to click on “GET NOTIFICATIONS” if they want to see what I post on Facebook. Is that more clear? Actually, this way gives you TWO ways to get all of the ideas, etc. PLUS you can PIN them and they will be TAGGED so you can find them again in the search bar!  — through the FACEBOOK FAN PAGE  and YOUR CHOICE (not mandatory) to subscribe to the bLog and get email postings that way. Well, I think it’s worth a shot at least in the short term, let’s see what happens…


Please-leave-comment-black

Categories: 1

Subscribe

Subscribe to our RSS feed and social profiles to receive updates.

16 Comments on “Bouquet Bombs! Bandana Tablecloth! Easy Applique! Bow Tie Quilt! Custom Rolling Pins! Picnic Salads! July 4th Cake! Jokes, Art, Design & Memories”

  1. July 3, 2014 at 5:22 AM #

    Thanks for the shoutout on our bandanna tablecloth.

    Like

  2. July 3, 2014 at 6:17 AM #

    Hi Mark, I love your emails, especially your jokes. But I also appreciate your other info and links.

    Like

  3. Melinda
    July 3, 2014 at 6:34 AM #

    love, love, love the blog. Sooo much better than Facebook!!!

    Like

  4. Sharon Perry
    July 3, 2014 at 8:06 AM #

    I love getting your blog posts in my email box. If I only have time to read one thing, your email is it. When I go on Facebook I get distracted by too much stuff and before I know it time has flown by! Keep ’em coming, Mark!

    Like

  5. mary shoop
    July 3, 2014 at 2:45 PM #

    I even remember our school picnics being at West View Park. I’m surprised you had a ticket left at the end of the day. I’d use all of mine on the roller coaster.

    Like

    • July 3, 2014 at 2:55 PM #

      Mary, I went to the Catholic school so our school picnic was at West View. But all of my cousins attended public schools and their school picnics were at Kennywood (as was Italian Day). So, we either went to my cousins’ school picnics or to Italian Day (my mother was Italian). I had only gone to West View Park once or twice. And I used to love how the roller coaster tracks curved over the road on the way there. Remember that? xoxom

      Like

      • mary shoop
        July 3, 2014 at 3:38 PM #

        Oh yes I can even see it in my minds eye. We lived further out from West View and in the early 50’s kids from our area went to high school there so every year that was the highlight of spring, only went once a year so saved all spring for tickets. Even had a few dates there in high school exciting times.

        Like

  6. Pat Seager
    July 3, 2014 at 2:58 PM #

    I love getting this in my email. that way I don’t miss a thing..

    Like

  7. Charlotte Durkin
    July 3, 2014 at 4:26 PM #

    I kinda miss reading the comments on each post on facebook. Maybe I’m in the minority, but it felt more like a community there.

    Like

    • July 4, 2014 at 6:25 AM #

      I miss them, too Charolotte. The reason I’m here is because only 5% of our ‘community’ was seeing anything that I posted. I loved Facebook but now it’s a money making from it’s members organization rather than from it’s advertisers. I’m already doing this for free. I’m not paying for the privilege. 😦

      Like

  8. Atikah
    July 3, 2014 at 4:45 PM #

    Thanks for sharing all the great ideas! Keep it up! ^^

    Like

  9. Penny
    July 4, 2014 at 4:57 AM #

    Those rolling pins have my attention for sure! I have a couple yard sale pins and a Dremel tool just itching to meet.

    Like

  10. Lorraine
    July 4, 2014 at 6:20 AM #

    I do appreciate your creativity and inspiration! I look forward to the change in things because Facebook requires too much of me too!

    Like

  11. July 4, 2014 at 6:54 AM #

    I love getting your email blog & I do check out things you post about on FB when I am on there, but getting the email make sure I don’t miss any of your inspirations & creativity !!!

    Like

  12. July 4, 2014 at 7:04 AM #

    I love all of your posts. Please don’t stop. I’ll follow where ever you go.

    Like

  13. Paule-Marie
    July 6, 2014 at 1:00 PM #

    Love your posts, Mark. I haven’t been on Facebook a lot lately, but always read your blog. You’ve made it so easy to check out the creative ideas you share. Have you made Ina’s cake yet? I made it several times last year for our open sew group at our local quilt store (minus the decorations). It is to die for and everyone loved it.

    Like

Leave a Reply

The Duquesne Hunky

Growing Up in Duquesne, Pennsylvania

Mark Lipinski's Blog

Where creative people can be themselves. . . at last!

Ravensong's Ride

... a journey of the heart

Glorious Color Blog

Just another WordPress site

Quilt Alliance

Document - Preserve - Share

