Duct Tape Beach Bag! Make a Modern Quilt! Knitted Bird Nests! Crochet Party Favors! Grass Head Yard Art! A Floral Chandlier! Jokes, Art, Design & Memories

Unknown

PLEASE SUBSCRIBE TO THIS BLOG so you don’t miss a thing!

 

JUST A FEW MORE DAYS TO SIGN UP! 

th

 

On Thursday, July 10 from 1 until 2:15-ish PM EST, I will be giving an ENCORE and LIVE presentation of The Slow Stitching Webinar! And, of course, and there will be a LIVE response to all of your questions and comments about Slow Stitching. Sign up today and see what all the buzz has been about, how to get unstuck, and how to ramp your patchwork up a notch for your own, physical, emotional, creative, spiritual and financial benefit.

Can’t make this time either? Sign up and a copy of the webinar will be sent to you so you can watch and listen at your own leisure! xoxom

CLICK HERE FOR MORE INFORMATION:

http://www.shopfonsandporter.com/product/Mark-Lipinski-Presents-The-Slow-Stitching-Movement-Creating-Promoting-and-Sustaining-a-New-Vision-in-Quiltmaking/web-seminars

PLEASE ENCOURAGE YOUR FRIENDS

TO PARTICIPATE IN

THE SLOW STITCHING MOVEMENT WEBINAR 

THIS WEEK!

DPWNR61914

 

 

YOKE DU YOUR 

1b0b9e16321ccf57f027068824c1bbff-1

 

A drunk walks up to a barkeeper one day and says, “If I show you a trick will you give me a free drink?”

The Barkeep says “Depends on how good of a trick it is.”

The Drunk reaches into his pocket and pulls out a chipmunk and places him behind the piano. The chipmunk starts to play the sweetest jazz riff the barkeeper has ever heard. He pours the drunk his drink.

The drunk, after killing his drink says, “If I show you another trick can I have another free one?”

The barkeep says “If it is anything like that last one, you can drink free all night.”

The drunk reaches into his other pocket, pulls out a rat, sets it on top of the piano, and the rat starts scatting along with the chipmunk.” Impressed, the barkeeper starts to pour drinks as fast as the drunk can drink ’em.

After several hours, a big time Hollywood agent walks in, sees the act and franticaly asks the barkeeper who it belongs to. The barkeeper points tothe drunk who is passed out on the floor. The agent wakes him up and says, “I will give you 1 Million dollars for that act.”

The drunks says “not for sale”.

The agent says, “Ok, 100 grand for just the scating rat.”

The drunk say, “deal” The agent writes the check and leaves with the rat.

The barkeeper looks at the drunk and says, “Are you nuts? You had a Million dollar act that you just broke up for a whimpy 100 g’s?”

The Drunk says, “Relax, the chipmunk is a ventriloquist”

ARTspiration

Artists or art that turns me on and feeds my muse! Like it or dislike it, what about this art inspires your own art or creativity?  “Page” by Barbara Wells Sarudy.

Henri Lebasque (French artist, 1865-1937) iu

 

DESIGNspiration

Look around you. Design is everywhere! How can you incorporate the beauty that surrounds you into your art or craft?   Pinecone bottom. adcad5281bb02a3a24df721022cc94fe

 

 

IDEA I LOVE

131-500x350

This idea is going to take a bit of time and some elbow-grease, but I think you’re up for the challenge, cupcake!  This DIY project is for making a hanging, live flower, chandler!  Can you even imagine?  It’s genius.  All you need is a simple frame (I’m wondering if stretcher bars for artists’ canvas might work), a few things from Lowe’s, and a supply of floral water tubes.  Mr. Electric won’t know what hit him — until he wakes up after knocking his head on my hanging chandelier where once there was none.   Here’s how to make yours:

http://www.designsponge.com/2014/06/diy-project-hanging-floral-chandelier.html

151-500x315

IDEA I LOVE

Here’s how to make some fun grassy garden gnomes for your yard or patio using old nylons or pantyhose!  Yes, kids would love to make these, but so would adults and it’s a great way to add a little personality to your outdoor area.   Follow these easy instructions:

http://craftside.typepad.com/craftside/2014/04/easter-basket-full-of-craft-books-giveaway-how-to-make-grassy-garden-gnomes.html

gnomes

 

IDEA I LOVE

This waterproof beach bag made from — are you ready? — DUCT TAPE is uberly cool-beans, ain’t it?  Grab a trash bag and some colorful rolls of tape and go to town (then to the beach).  Hell, take it in the shower with you.   Here’s the tutorial:

http://www2.fiskars.com/Inspiration-Projects/Duck-Tape-Crafts/Waterproof-Duck-Tape-Beach-Bag#.U7qGuhb-qzA

Waterproof-Duck-Tape-Beach-Bag_product_main

OMG!!!

628x471-2

Wait until you see this article about how KNITTERS are knitting little bird nests for our baby feathered friends!

Read about it here:  http://www.sfgate.com/default/article/Knitters-answer-WildCare-s-call-for-nests-to-save-5600816.php#item-30804

628x471-1

 

YUM

SUMMER PASTA WITH BASIL, TOMATOES & FETA 

“What could be better on a summer night than a simple pasta studded with juicy, fresh garden tomatoes, freshly torn basil, and crumbled feta cheese?”

tomato-pasta-l

INGREDIENTS:

  • 12 ounces dried penne pasta
  • 1 1/2 pounds ripe tomatoes
  • 1 cup chopped or slivered fresh basil leaves
  • 3/4 cup crumbled feta cheese (4 oz.)
  • 2 cloves garlic, peeled and minced
  • 3 tablespoons olive oil
  • Salt and pepper

Preparation

  1. 1. In a 4- to 5-quart pan over high heat, bring 2 quarts water to a boil. Add pasta and cook, stirring occasionally, until tender to bite, about 10 minutes. Drain.
  2. 2. Meanwhile, rinse, core, seed, and chop tomatoes. In a large bowl, mix tomatoes, basil, 1/2 cup feta, garlic, and olive oil. Add hot cooked pasta and mix well. Add salt and pepper to taste. Sprinkle with remaining 1/4 cup feta.

Source:  http://www.myrecipes.com/recipe/pasta-with-basil-tomatoes-feta-10000001010608/

WORDS TO LIVE BY

10382164_10152524450292863_1627840106472278191_n

 

IDEA I LOVE

Here’s a free quilt pattern by Pam Rocco for Quilter’s Newsletter magazine that you might like to take a stab at.   What have you got to lose?  Here’s the PDF pattern:

http://www.quiltersnewsletter.com/content_downloads/QNMP-120900-DOUBLE-FPweb.pdf

rocco

 

MEMBA?

Plastic lipstick for girls!

a91a6c529df6907bb54973c29b7a6f23

DESSERT!

SOFT AND CHEWY WHITE CHOCOLATE

& CREAM CHEESE COOKIES

“The cookies are extremely soft, moist, and creamy.”

whitechoccookies-18

INGREDIENTS:

1/2 cup (1 stick) unsalted butter, softened
2 ounces (about 1/4 cup ) cream cheese, softened (use cream cheese in a block, lite is okay; don’t use fat-free, ‘spreadable’, or cream cheese in a tub)
3/4 cup light brown sugar, packed
1/4 cup granulated sugar
1 large egg
2 teaspoons vanilla extract
2 cups all-purpose flour
one 3.5-ounce packet instant vanilla or cheesecake-flavored pudding mix
1 teaspoon baking soda
pinch salt, optional and to taste
10 ounces white chocolate chips

DIRECTIONS:

  1. To the bowl of a stand mixer fitted with the paddle attachment (or large mixing bowl and electric mixer) combine the butter, cream cheese, sugars, egg, vanilla, and beat on medium-high speed until creamed and well combined, about 4 minutes
  2. Stop, scrape down the sides of the bowl, and add the flour, dry pudding mix, baking soda, optional salt, and beat on low speed until just combined, about 1 minute.
  3. Stop, scrape down the sides of the bowl, and add the white chocolate, and beat on low speed until just combined, about 30 seconds.
  4. Using a large cookie scoop, 1/4-cup measure, or your hands, form approximately 13 to 14 equal-sized mounds of dough, roll into balls, and flatten slightly. Tip – Strategically place a few white chocolate chips right on top of each mound of dough by taking chips from the underside and adding them on top.
  5. Place mounds on a large plate or tray, cover with plasticwrap, and refrigerate for at least 3 hours, up to 5 days. Do not bake with unchilled dough because cookies will bake thinner, flatter, and be more prone to spreading.
  6. Preheat oven to 350F, line a baking sheet with a Silpat or spray with cooking spray. Place dough mounds on baking sheet, spaced at least 2 inches apart (I bake 8 cookies per sheet) and bake for about 11 minutes, or until edges have set and tops are just set, even if slightly undercooked, pale, and glossy in the center; don’t overbake. Cookies firm up as they cool. Allow cookies to cool on baking sheet for about 10 minutes before serving. I let them cool on the baking sheet and don’t use a rack.
  7. Cookies will keep airtight at room temperature for up to 1 week or in the freezer for up to 6 months. Alternatively, unbaked cookie dough can be stored in an airtight container in the refrigerator for up to 5 days, or in the freezer for up to 4 months, so consider baking only as many cookies as desired and save the remaining dough to be baked in the future when desired.

MUST HAVE

It’s going to be in the 90’s today on Pickle Road.  So, I’m coveting this personal misting fan for my desk.  $135.63 at  http://www.amazon.com/exec/obidos/ASIN/B00KBREY0O/20140000-20

7c60b233e2d39331af6ebebeb4d89705 That’s a lot of money.  To heck with it.  I’ll take a shower instead.  (but I really do want one, I think . . . .)

SHOEspiration

These are from Irregular Choice, one of the most fun shoe makers!

Screen shot 2011-04-10 at 10.32.37 PM

IDEA I LOVE

 

DSC06303

What human with a crochet hook wouldn’t want to make crocheted party poppers.  So much fun — and such and excellent waste of time.  Let the universe know that you don’t give two craps that time is marching on and you’re in no rush to do anything except exactly what you want to do.  Here’s how you craft these funny nothings:

 

Have you read the latest blog…

at THE SLOW STITCHING MOVEMENT WEBSITE?

This week it’s about ethical shopping.  Take a look by clicking on the image:

cropped-slowstitchingbannerblog-0111

 

WHY THIS FORMAT IS NEW: 

I want to try something and I would really like your input on it. For the past year or so, I have been posting up to 20 links per day on my Mark Lipinski’s Fan Page on Facebook. Of course, in its never ending quest to make lots of money, Facebook cares less about you and me and more about cash in spite of the fact they have more money than they know what to do with. As a result, those of you who have been faithful readers of the Fan Page have been removed, time and time again, from getting any of my posts onto your timeline feed. The reason is, Facebook would like me to pay money every day in order to advertise and lure readers like you, to the Fan Page. Otherwise, only about 5% of people who clicked LIKE on the Fan Page are actually seeing anything I post — and it could be random.  Basically, it sucks for all of us. I think we would all be better served if I posted my tips, ideas, links, and jokes, etc. to my blog. You can subscribe to my blog (only if you want) and get an email every time I post a grouping of ideas, links, etc. I’M NOT shutting down my Facebook Fan Page. What I am doing is putting everything that used to be on the Fan Page individually on my blog, AND there will be a daily link to the idea blog on the Fan Page, just as there were multiple links to the various blogs that I’ve always linked to in the past. It’s not that different, really. It will save me a lot of time, and guarantee those who want to see the creative posts will actually get to see them. And Facebookers, will STILL have to click on “GET NOTIFICATIONS” if they want to see what I post on Facebook. Is that more clear? Actually, this way gives you TWO ways to get all of the ideas, etc. PLUS you can PIN them and they will be TAGGED so you can find them again in the search bar!  — through the FACEBOOK FAN PAGE  and YOUR CHOICE (not mandatory) to subscribe to the bLog and get email postings that way. Well, I think it’s worth a shot at least in the short term, let’s see what happens…

So, it’s been a few weeks.  What do you think?


Please-leave-comment-black

Categories: 1

Subscribe

Subscribe to our RSS feed and social profiles to receive updates.

10 Comments on “Duct Tape Beach Bag! Make a Modern Quilt! Knitted Bird Nests! Crochet Party Favors! Grass Head Yard Art! A Floral Chandlier! Jokes, Art, Design & Memories”

  1. July 7, 2014 at 8:17 AM #

    Mark, I’m a little late to this party but now I’m staying. Between the ARTspiration idea from “Page” to the plastic lipstick for girls, you have covered all of my important bases. Both evoke memories for me that just might find their way into my quilts. As for the Slow Stitching Movement, count me in. I’m signing up for the web seminar because this idea touched a nerve in me and . . . I need a birthday present for myself. Take care, Pam

    Like

  2. Debi
    July 7, 2014 at 8:50 AM #

    Mark, I just love getting these blog feeds in my e-mail. You bring a smile to my face with each one!

    Like

  3. muriel
    July 7, 2014 at 9:00 AM #

    Mark, Many thanks for the blog feeds in my e.mail. I always have a smile when reading them,

    Like

  4. Mona
    July 7, 2014 at 9:24 AM #

    Hey Mark-
    I am really enjoying the e-mails. My workplace does not allow access to Facebook so this is perfect. You always seem to lighten my day. Thank you for this. ~Mona

    Like

  5. Cherie
    July 7, 2014 at 11:05 AM #

    Blogs are where it’s at baby. I completely support not feeding the Facebook monster. I’ve missed you lately and I am so happy I won’t miss you and you’re wisdom any more.

    Like

  6. Peg Lyons
    July 7, 2014 at 12:40 PM #

    I’m not sure how I feel about this. I love your posts and never had any trouble getting them on FB. So now I am getting them twice.

    Like

  7. donnaharrold2000@yahoo.com
    July 7, 2014 at 12:41 PM #

    Mark! You must have thousands of people yelling about the top, but please send the link for the duct tape bag!! I must do this!!!

    Sent from my iPad

    Like

    • July 7, 2014 at 12:58 PM #

      Clear our you cache and you’ll have no problem clicking the link or the photo, Donna! 🙂 xooxm

      Like

  8. July 8, 2014 at 10:41 AM #

    Hi, Mark,
    I love your blog–I don’t “do” FaceBook, so I have missed your salty style since you left “Quilter’s Home.” I dropped my subscription after you left, and I have caught your Mojo Show once in a while, but a blog is perfect! I can catch up with you at the end of long day of teaching teens and do some vicarious quilter during the school year when there just is no time! I hope you are feeling better than ever–and thanks for coming back to us with your blog. Keep up the great work!
    🙂

    Like

  9. July 8, 2014 at 5:50 PM #

    Love the way your blog looks, easier for me than FB.

    Like

Leave a Reply

The Duquesne Hunky

Growing Up in Duquesne, Pennsylvania

Mark Lipinski's Blog

Where creative people can be themselves. . . at last!

Ravensong's Ride

... a journey of the heart

Glorious Color Blog

Just another WordPress site

Quilt Alliance

Document - Preserve - Share

