Sewing Tool Organizer! Judy Laquidara Quilt! Pentagon Patchwork Balls! DIY Lap Loom! Old Fashioned Photo Strips! Elephant Plushies! PLUS . . . Recipes, Jokes, Art, Design & Memories!

 

10500469_794735810557527_3646254998409989670_n



images-1

If you’re liking this blog Please tell your friends about it!

I’d really appreciate it!  xoxom

 

YOKE DU YOUR 

 

hqdefault

Two men were walking their dogs together. The first guy with a Chocolate lab and the second a Chihuahua

The first guy says, “Hey, you want to get something to eat?”

The second guy replies, “Yeah, but they all have signs that say ‘No Dogs Allowed’.”

The first guy with the lab puts sunglasses on and hands the other guy a pair. “Follow my lead,” he says.

As he walks into the restaurant a waiter stops him and says, “Sir, no dogs allowed.”

The man replies, “It’s O.K., this is my seeing eye dog.” The waiter apologizes and leads the man to a table as the second man enters.

The same waiter stops him but the guy says, “This is my seeing eye dog. I’m with the other guy.”

The waiter replies, “Sir, you can’t fool me, you have a Chihuahua.”

The man freaks out and says, “A Chihuahua? They gave me a Chihuahua?!”

 

ARTspiration

Artists or art that turns me on and feeds my muse! Like it or dislike it, what about this art inspires your own art or creativity?   The phenomenal artist Alex Gray has depicted the ideal vision of Avalokitesvara.  What it means: Notice the thousand arms, and varied shamanic tools with which Avalokitesvara is able to accomplish all things.  The eye in each hand gives Him all-seeing.  His many heads see in every direction, and exist in all dimensions and finer and finer realms.  The ghoulish looking head denotes the reality that part of a Compassionate Attitude is one that destroys Illusion; our delusions.  Hearing that we are wrong can feel like someone is ‘beating us up,’ treating us monstrously…thus the monster face.  http://www.w1ndhorse.com/avalokitesvara.html

 

RCS_Avalokitesvara-AGrey

DESIGNspiration

Look around you. Design is everywhere! How can you incorporate the beauty that surrounds you into your art or craft?

For the 2013 Ulster Bank Belfast International Festival at Queen’s, Cuban-American Artist, Jorge Rodríguez-Gerada, has created WISH, a portrait of an anonymous local girl photographed by the artist in the process of making a pure and simple wish for the future. Spanning an 11 acre site in Belfast’s Titanic Quarter, the photographic image of this girl – made of topsoil, sand, grass and stones – can be seen from various locations around Belfast. This innovative public artwork pushes boundaries and uses cutting edge technologies, making it one of the most ambitious land art projects in the world.

Monumental-Acre-Portrait-in-Belfast-by-Jorge-Rodríguez-Gerada-5-600x399

 

Monumental-Acre-Portrait-in-Belfast-by-Jorge-Rodríguez-Gerada-2-600x400-1

 

Monumental-Acre-Portrait-in-Belfast-by-Jorge-Rodríguez-Gerada-1-600x435

IDEA I LOVE

 needlebook-tutorial1

 

Isn’t this the greatest? I may have to marry the designer (do you hear that, Amy?).  Here’s a free sewing tutorial for making your own foldable stitching organizer!  I love this.  LOVE this!  Start here . . .

http://lotsofpinkhere.blogspot.ca/2011/10/12-gifts-of-christmas-blog-hop.html

 

IDEA I LOVE

photos1

Here’s how to make an old-fashioned photo strip from your selfies, youfies, and wefies.  Finally, you get to use your computer for something more than Facebook!   Check it out . . . 

http://www.momtastic.com/diy/437631-faux-photo-booth-pictures/

 

IDEA I LOVE

pentagon14

 

Make a colorful bowl of patchwork pentagon balls for your autumn and/or Christmas home.  I think baskets and bowls filled with these are not only pretty, it shows off your work  (just an FYI,  I would use a silk thread to piece these so that the stitches do not take away from the final piece – I’m sure the designer used the white thread to illustrate her stitches).   It’s a great portable slow-stitching project . . .  

http://kameleonquilt.wordpress.com/2012/04/25/patchwork-ball-made-of-pentagons/

YUM

 HONOLULU LUAU DOG

honolulu-luau-dogs

  • 1 tbsp KC Masterpiece spicy mango marinade
  • 1 tsp Hy-Vee honey
  • 1 (14 oz) pkg Nathan’s beef franks
  • 7 Hy-Vee hot dog buns
  • 7 tbsp Hy-Vee cream cheese, softened
  • 7 slices fresh pineapple, cut into spears
  • 7 tbsp Oscar Meyer Real Bacon Recipe Pieces

All you do

  1. In a small bowl, mix marinade and honey; set aside.
  2. On a griddle, cook franks to preferred doneness. Toast hot dog buns and spread cream cheese on each side. Place a cooked frank on each bun and pineapple spear on each side of the frank and drizzle with marinade mixture. Sprinkle with bacon bits.

Source: http://www.hy-vee.com/meal-solutions/recipes/Honolulu-Luau-Dog-R6759.aspx?noredirect

BREATHLESS INSPIRATION

This incredible collection of surreal photo manipulations have been created by Russian photographer and artist Oleg Dou.

Oleg-Dou6-550x550

Oleg-Dou7-550x550

Oleg-Dou5-550x402

 

WORDS TO LIVE BY

7abd2418ef317742ba6ca8b457bf311d

 

PATCHWORK, BABY! 

 

whole

Here’s another pretty quilt called, Road to Llano Quilt, by designer Judy Laquidara.  Here’s a link to her free pattern…

http://www.patchworktimes.com/2013/05/24/34533/

MEMBA DIS?

Welsh’s jelly jar glasses.

a6dbe0108e7558bfc594201bb8a582a8

IDEA I LOVE!

loom

GO AHEAD! Make your own custom lap loom in under an hour!  This is great therapy and a great way to keep your mitts out of the Lays while you watch TV.  Start here . . .

http://www.makescoutdiy.com/2014/07/28/basics-how-to-make-a-custom-loom/ 

MUST HAVE!

You know we all need a selfie toaster!  OMG, is there a stronger word than ‘need?’  Talk about a great birthday or Christmas gift!  Yowza!  $75

http://fancy.com/things/677114775401923314/Selfie-Toaster?ref=jeffreyturner 

677114775401923314_735286b0fa63

 

DESSERT!

Grandma’s Coconut Balls 

This recipe is from Laura Mendoza, a Facebook friend!  Laura says, “Here’s a yummy recipe that my Grandma always made every year at Christmastime.  I think her mother made them too, so this recipe is at least 50 years old.  The original recipe called for parafin wax in the chocolate.  I eliminated that part when I started making these years ago.  Everyone I know absolutely loves these (unless they hate coconut).  I actually won a recipe contest at our local grocery store with these.”

 

images

2 lbs powdered sugar
2 lbs flaked/shredded coconut
1/2 cup butter – softened
1 can sweetened condensed milk
1 cup chopped walnuts
2 tsp vanilla extract
4-5 pkgs semisweet chocolote chips

Mix together all ingredients, except chocolate chips. Use your hands. This will take awhile – maybe 10-15 minutes. Roll into 1″ balls. Place on tray or cookie sheet in a single layer. Freeze overnight.
Next day, melt chocolate chips in double boiler. Dip frozen balls in melted chocolate. I use a long doll/craft needle to hold the balls. Place on trays/cookie sheets lined with wax paper. Refrigerate until chocolate is hard.Store in airtight container in refrigerator. Can last up to 6 weeks this way.

Okay to keep at room temperature for a few hours (parties, work, etc). Makes about 120-130 balls. Okay to ship.

 

SHOEspiration

A crazy quilted shoe!

1348736162855762

 

IDEA I LOVE

SONY DSC

I like the people at Camelot Cottons.  They’ve always been very nice and earnest in their design approach (hardworking, too).  That’s why, finding this little tutorial for the Elephants using Camelot fabrics gave me a welcomed morning smile.   Why not make a set.  You know you know someone who would love them.  Here’s the patterns . . .

http://www.camelotfabricsblog.com/?p=3122

Hey Michigan!

THIS FRIDAY AND SATURDAY

Time-is-Running-Out

On Friday and Saturday, August 1 & 2

I’ll be visiting Fabric Affair in Troy, Michigan!

fabric-affair-logo

On Friday evening I’ll be giving my wild talk (the fun one)!

All day on Saturday, I’ll be teaching my Lemon Cathedral Workshop!

Sign Up for the Workshop TODAY! 

standard-button

 

YOU’LL LEARN MY LEMON CATHEDRAL QUILT

lemoncathedral

LemonCathedralFlyerDetroit

Have you checked out …

THE SLOW STITCHING MOVEMENT WEBSITE?

The new Slow Stitching Movement blog has been posted. This blog is about “Semper Tedium! What I Learned (and you can, too)!” I’d love for you to take a look at it and give me any feedback. Thanks! xooxm

img_2966

Just CLICK on the SLOW STITCHING BLOG box on the Slow Stitching Movement website: http://www.slowstitching.com/    (please subscribe while you’re there)

DON’T MISS A THING, MISS THANG! 

Unknown


Please-leave-comment-black

Categories: 1

Subscribe

Subscribe to our RSS feed and social profiles to receive updates.

16 Comments on “Sewing Tool Organizer! Judy Laquidara Quilt! Pentagon Patchwork Balls! DIY Lap Loom! Old Fashioned Photo Strips! Elephant Plushies! PLUS . . . Recipes, Jokes, Art, Design & Memories!”

  1. July 30, 2014 at 12:27 PM #

    Thoroughly enjoying your blog, Mark. I’m in awe of how much you put into each one and the time it must take to prepare each. – I enjoy the laughs and the inspiration. Was surprised to see the Patchwork Balls. They make good little baby gifts. I’ve made a good many as gifts. They are perfect for tiny hands to grasp, and one day, to throw. Safe and soft!

    Like

    • July 30, 2014 at 12:28 PM #

      Thanks for the note, Maria! I needed it. Having a weird day! LOL xoxom

      Like

  2. Louise
    July 30, 2014 at 12:46 PM #

    Hello Mark! I think FB is messing with you. I must get ten to fifteen notifications a day for you now! I never got them before the blog. I had to go to your page to see your stuff. I had no idea you did so much every day. Do you get as much feedback with the blog as you did on FB?

    Like

    • July 30, 2014 at 12:53 PM #

      Who know what evil lurks in Facebook. Weird, right? Anyway, I think they must pick and choose the 5% they deliver to at random. I only miss posting on Saturdays, holidays, and occasional out-of-town lecture days — FOR YEARS! My facebook “views’ went from several THOUSAND to under 100 overnight. At least the people who want to see my stuff can see it on my blog, now, without missing anything. I’m averaging about 1500 a post since I moved over here about 3-4 weeks ago. Most of my almost 17,000 LIKES have no idea I even continued posting on FB or moved to the blog because they aren’t getting notices. 😦

      Like

  3. Mary Jane Hazelwood
    July 30, 2014 at 12:55 PM #

    Me too — I enjoy your blog every day……except when I get behind…..then I catch up and get saturated with ideas! It’s great to have your perspective and that you’re so willing to share — Here’s hoping your day gets less weird!

    Like

    • July 30, 2014 at 12:58 PM #

      Thanks, Mary Jane. I’m happy you’re here! I am always on inspiration overload. I’m leaving for a class/lecture and that always makes me a little anxious, believe it or not, I’m pretty shy. There is “Mark Lipinski” and then there is just Mark Lipinski. LOL xooxm

      Like

  4. Chere
    July 30, 2014 at 2:26 PM #

    I just found your blog and I am loving it! Jokes, recipes, sewing tips, great design ideas, why read anything else? 🙂

    Like

    • July 30, 2014 at 3:54 PM #

      Because if you read only this, your mind will turn to mush! LOL Thanks for the note. You can’t know how I appreciate it. xoxom

      Like

  5. Cathy McIntee
    July 30, 2014 at 3:20 PM #

    Love your blog and wonderful sources of inspiration!

    Liked by 1 person

    • July 30, 2014 at 3:54 PM #

      Boy, Cathy, I needed to hear that today! Thank you! xooxm

      Like

  6. July 30, 2014 at 8:16 PM #

    Love love love your blog. I still have most of my issues of Quilter’s Home, from when it was good. Now I feel like I get a bit of that everyday through your blog. Thank you so much.

    Like

  7. July 31, 2014 at 10:16 AM #

    LOVE the land”scaping” section! I also pinned the sewing tool organizer – it would make a great gift!

    Like

  8. Louise
    July 31, 2014 at 7:03 PM #

    I would miss you so much if I could not find you here anywhere. One thing or another brightens my every day!

    Like

  9. Gayle Grier
    August 1, 2014 at 1:53 PM #

    Love reading your blog every day via Feedly now. I’m still watching for the FB notifications but glad I won’t miss anything thanks to your blog and Feedly. I also download your Creative Mojo podcast every week via iTunes. Noticed last night that the last one posted was June 25, 2014. Have you been re-running previous episodes or were the July shows new? Thanks. Always your fan! gayle

    Like

  10. Mary Ann
    August 4, 2014 at 9:05 AM #

    Love your blog, always such interesting things Mark. The landscaping project especially amazing. Thanks for always capturing our attention.

    Like

Leave a Reply

The Duquesne Hunky

Growing Up in Duquesne, Pennsylvania

Mark Lipinski's Blog

Where creative people can be themselves. . . at last!

Ravensong's Ride

... a journey of the heart

Glorious Color Blog

Just another WordPress site

Quilt Alliance

Document - Preserve - Share

