DIY Beautiful Button Necklace! Halloween Cat Pillow! Make Waffle and Linen Hand Towels !Cute Spindle Monsters! Watercolor Tree Tutorial! Modern Hombre Triangle Quilt Pattern! P LUS . . . Recipes, Jokes, Art, Design & Memories!

10500469_794735810557527_3646254998409989670_n



 

images-1

If you’re liking this blog Please tell your friends about it!

I’d really appreciate it!  xoxom

YOKE DU YOUR

 dogs-wearing-pantyhose-latest-internet-craze-L-G82wBE

A couple were indulged in whoopee and the man noticed that with each movement of his pelvis, his partner’s toes would rise.

Later that night, while going at it pretty hot and heavy in the shower, her toes remained still. Confused, he asked, “Why is it that when we do it in bed, your toes go up, but when we do it in the shower, they don’t?”

“Silly,” she replied, “I take my pantyhose off in the shower!”

tumblr_m02p23bf4v1qet1tyo1_500

ARTspiration

Artists or art that turns me on and feeds my muse! Like it or dislike it, what about this art inspires your own art or creativity?   By artist, Oleg Shuplyak.

fefcefd2711ee0444b9b653034c9d28a

DESIGNspiration

Look around you. Design is everywhere! How can you incorporate the beauty that surrounds you into your art or craft?  Recycled Silk Chair & Ottoman.  Wow!

465474191534064025_b64d07bb46b9

IDEA I LOVE

 tvs8517_xl

Over the years, I have seen these button necklaces around quilt shows and the necks of my students. I’ve always really liked him and was excited to find a tutorial of how you can make your own. Take a look:

http://www.marthastewart.com/268914/button-necklace-with-sophie#Handmade%20Button%20Jewelry%7C/856348/handmade-button-jewelry/@center/381713/handmade-jewelry%7C268914

IDEA I LOVE

 Halloween-cat-pillow_thumb[5]

Yes, Halloween is just around the corner so if you’re into making a spooky cat pillow (although I am not quite sure this cat pillow is as spooky as it is just  angry looking), you should probably start it now. Honestly, I’m not so sure I find this to be the perfect Halloween home decor remedy, but it certainly is an inspiration for future pillows with sweet kitty faces.   Maybe if the nose  were fashioned from an upside down piece of candy corn in the embroidery? Oh well, check it out…

http://www.u-createcrafts.com/2013/10/diy-halloween-cat-pillow.html

 

GARDENspiration

I love this autumn vignette!  Find an old chair, some cheesy craft-store autumn leaves, and get to work. Plus, here’s a tutorial on how to “polish” pumpkins and gourds!  Cool, right?   That said, the last time I asked someone if I could “polish their pumpkin”  I ended up with a black  eye!  Time to start decorating…

http://www.heynowwhoanow.com/decorate/mondays-with-mom-polishing-pumpkins/

 

c5add7ea8652008ab63d1b8d03927b98

 

IDEA I LOVE

 101670395.jpg.rendition.largest

 These Spindle Monsters  would be a hit as little gifties  in a Halloween Trick or Treat  bag (but don’t forget some candy, too). Perfect for your Halloween dinner table or as little vignettes all around your home! Can you imagine an army of these monsters lined up across your fireplace mantel? So not difficult to make…

http://www.bhg.com/halloween/outdoor-decorations/spooky-home-decorations/#page=20

YUMMY DISH!

CHICKEN POT PIE

d9284ad0aa2bd3ce4e0b0ac1e0302cd5

HERE’S WHAT YOU’LL NEED:

  • cooked and shredded chicken
  • carrots
  • frozen green peas
  • celery
  • butter
  • onion
  • flour
  • black pepper
  • garlic powder
  • chicken broth
  • milk
  • pie crusts

FOR THE FULL RECIPE, CLICK HERE:   http://rantsfrommycrazykitchen.com/2012/05/15/chicken-pot-pie/#_a5y_p=1473322

BREATHLESS INSPIRATION

Artist, Nick Gentry,  has been inspired by something entirely unpredictable and unique, he has created artwork using paints and floppy discs!  What’s sitting around your house that you can transform into your own works d’art!   http://www.nickgentry.com   I LOVE Nick’s piece done with photo negatives (at the end of this section, cupcake).

Index-550x567-1

AlgorithmBlues-550x567

Archived-550x567

Voyager-550x567

ElementsOfExistence-550x567

NextGeneration-550x567

Index-550x567

KidChaos-550x567

Switchblade-550x567

Alterra-550x567

Capture

SO DRINK, CHUG-A-LUG CHUG-A-LUG 

 

VIRGIN ALMOND JOY MILKSHAKE

AS-Almond-Joy-3

INGREDIENTS

milk
cream of coconut (coco lopez)
coconut flakes
creamy chocolate ice cream
crushed almonds

FOR THE FULL RECIPE VISIT:  http://www.designsponge.com/2010/07/in-the-kitchen-with-spike-mendelsohns-milkshake.html

tumblr_lo4zsmjBu01qgmvxdo1_500

WORDS TO LIVE BY

 7c1d78582593762e86eb6a70aa7ccbfd

 

IDEA I LOVE

 Spatter_Watercolor_Tree_Tutorial-40-of-46

I encourage all of my students to stimulate their creativity by moving out of their creative comfort zones. Here’s a very easy and quick painting project that, with a little practice, could really become small framed pieces of art for your home.  Why not try a spring, summer, autumn, and winter version? Try it out here:

https://thepostmansknock.com/spatter-watercolor-tree-tutorial/

tumblr_mwieuaEMFK1sp5zsdo1_500

Spatter_Watercolor_Tree_Tutorial-33-of-46

MEMBA?

Fashion Plates.

fashion_plates_650x300_a01_

 

DESSERT!

GOLDEN CINNAMON PUMPKIN BARS 

 

9b8ce48c7c66452c82d5d32e7d3e834e

HERE’S WHAT YOU’LL NEED:

unsalted butter
packed light or dark brown sugar
vanilla extract
baking powder
salt
ground cinnamon
ground ginger
ground cloves
ground allspice
egg
canned pure (unsweetened) pumpkin
whole wheat flour
all-purpose flour
cinnamon chips

FOR THE FULL RECIPE, CLICK HERE:  http://www.recipegirl.com/2008/08/02/golden-cinnamon-pumpkin-bars/

PATCHWORK, BABY!

crib

 Well, it appears that modern quilting is taking traditional patterns and enlarging them tenfold. This little charming quilt is no exception. Actually, I like the big triangles. I also like the color placement, but you can fashion your own piece of patchwork in a graphic, stylized way like this triangle quilt or shop fromyour stash and just get scrappy wit’ it. Here’s the pattern:

http://seekatesew.com/modern-ombre-bw-triangle-quilt-tutorial-pattern/ 

trianglequilt2

SHOEspiration

Del Toro X Edie Parker Slip-On Multi Glitter Sneaker, $350.  http://bit.ly/WPSLNAtumblr_nba9ac9pXy1qzzzl7o1_500

IDEA I LOVE

 linen-waffle-handtowels-600-83

My heart be still.   These wall full and linen hand towels are completely amazing and I salivate just thinking about  having them in my home.   If you are a tidy housekeeper, then these are for you. I, on the other hand, am a hot mess and I wipe any spills and  kitchen messes up with whatever I can find and hope for the best when it comes to watching the stains out.  These towels are clearly for drying dishes with little exception. Who cares? I love them. Make a set (and wouldn’t they be an amazing hostess or shower gift?):

http://www.purlbee.com/2014/06/15/mollys-sketchbook-waffle-and-linen-hand-towels/

 linen-waffle-handtowels-600-1-661x441

MUST HAVE

I LOVE these “Flick Candles“, scented candles to celebrate special occasions with flavor as poetic as “divorce papers”, “canceled vacation”, “college rejection letter” or “friend zone”, but also more joyful occasions like “Bromance” and “Coming Out”! Amazing candles to set the mood whatever the situation!  I want Faded Fabric Candle or The Dog Sleeps on My Gift Quilt Candle!   http://theflickingcandles.com

flick-candles-2

flick-candles-10

Okay, this one killed me…

flick-candles-3

flick-candles-8

flick-candles-1

flick-candles-5

flick-candles-4

Cucumber melon? Oh no they DID  NOT! LOL

flick-candles-9

 

tumblr_mnwv22wtF01qdvxpgo1_500



ohio



THIS FRIDAY AND SATURDAY!

VISIT ME! 

I’M SPEAKING IN ATLANTA!

2 DIFFERENT LECTURES! 

ONE ON FRIDAY AND ONE ON SATURDAY

giphy

primaryHeader

THE SLOW STITCHING MOVEMENT

Saturday, September 13, 2014

TAKE A LOOK and REGISTER HERE: 

http://www.sewingexpo.com/QuiltingLIVE/ClassDetail/tabid/1340/EventID/106/ClassID/7562/Default.aspx

 QLheader1



2 more weeks

THE LEMON CATHEDRAL TOUR CONTINUES!

giphy-1

SpringfieldPostcard

Next stop:   SPRINGFIELD, ILLINOIS 

Drive into Springfield from St. Louis!  Chicago!  Indianapolis! 

Sign-Up-Button

MQX BANNER

Crowne Plaza, Springfield, Illinois

September 24-27, 2014

 Attend my Banquet Lecture on September 26

And an all day Lemon Cathedral workshop on September 27

66140_544211188943325_1341472327_n

HERE’S WHAT YOU’LL LEARN

LemonCathedralFlyerSpringfield

This is just one variation of the Lemon Cathedral quilt . . . 

lemoncathedral

And here’s what the students who took the workshop are saying:

th-5

“I had an absolutely amazing time this weekend at the quilting retreat!! Mark Lipinski was fabulous and so much fun! His lecture had us laughing so hard we were practically crying, and his quilts were outstanding. He’s a talented, entertaining and generous teacher. Even though I’ve been quilting for a long time, I learned some new exciting techniques and tips to help me advance my art! Can’t wait to hang out with him again.”  

Karen L.,  Quilter

We had such a great time in the Lemon Cathedral workshop. Thanks for a fabulous class and you are sooooo much fun.”

Carolyn S., Quilter

“My Lemon Cathedral class with Mark Lipinski at MQX was everything that I imagined. He had a way about teaching that put you at ease at learning a new technique. He was funny and engaging. I felt like everyone got his individual attention. I would definitely take another class with him.”

Michelle W., Quilter

“The lecture and lemon cathedral quilt class with Mark Lipinski was amazing and well worth the money! His lecture was filled with excitement, energy, laughter and spectacular quilts! The class was electric! Everyone loved the easy trick for making a quite complicated block! There were so many techniques used in this class, even the most advanced sewer will walk away with a “wow”!”  

Michelle Strassburg, Owner, Fabric Affair Quilt Shop

“The MQX Lemon Cathedral workshop was like five classes in one. Learned so many tips . Mark made us feel we could do anything. Best class ever.”

Donna  M., Quilter

“I highly recommend taking Mark Lipinski’s Lemon Cathedral quilt workshop. I took his workshop this past weekend and it was great. Mark is an excellent teacher. He is right there to answer any questions and give any help or advice you might need. You don’t want to miss this opportunity to be with and learn from Mark. It is more fun than you could ever imagine.”

Diane H., Quilter

“I have always been intimidated to try raw edged appliqué but this class was so fun and free spirited that all fear has vanished….now I’m looking for new applique projects. The cathedral windows block works like magic, thanks Mark.”

Lynn K., Quilter

“I totally enjoyed Mark’s Lemon Cathedral Quilt Retreat! This was my very first quilt retreat so I didn’t fully know what to expect. Well, it was two fun-filled days with Mark’s big magnetic personality. This man has incredible life stories! Also, I absolutely loved his quilts, so creative from a master quilter! Finally, during the Saturday class, Mark led us step by step in the creation of our quilt. I learned many new quilting techniques and now I’m looking forward to my next retreat!”

Rita J., Quilter

“This class with Mark has something for everyone from quilters who wish to be precise to those who enjoy artistic freedom to create. An added bonus are the laughs you get listening and mingling with Mark. “

Betty C., Quilter

“When I found out at the last minute that Mark would be in town I dropped everything to see him again. An evening of creative inspiration, warm camaraderie, fun stories and belly laughs was just what I needed to fill my cup. Spread the word: Mark Lipinski is back, and he’s better than ever!”

Lea P., Quilter

“Thank you Mark! We had sooo much fun and loved working with you on the Lemon Cathedral! Come back soon!”

Diane  L ., Quilter

“Mark’s lecture is worth whatever cost or trouble one goes through in order to hear it and see it. My husband and I saw Mark in Manchester, NH at the MQX show. The room was packed. We were at a table in the far back corner. In this position I could see the whole room. The problem with his lecture is that you are so sore from laughing and you can’t catch your breath. And he tells his stories as if you are the first audience to hear it. He has more to say than he does, skipping through quilts he brought to discuss at times. There were people at my table who also knew him, as I did. And others who hadn’t seen him before. He is very real…bearing it all. Therefore, we understand him and laugh because we have been there too. But, he is much more than that. He is at times frantic and crazy as he tells how he lives his life. If you haven’t seen his performance, make it a must on your bucket list before Mark gives it up. My husband and I think back on the things he said and did and laugh again. We have gotten great mileage out of his show. And if I ever have a chance to see him perform, I will do it. Because I had seen him previously, but knew I had to do so again. His show is always different and very worthwhile. And by the way, the people sitting at my table who had never seen him before were in shock…not knowing if his stories were real or not. But we who knew him assured them it was so, and they laughed harder than us. He’s great.”

Janet K., Quilter

log

Sign-Up-Button


log


DON’T MISS A THING, MISS THANG!

Unknown


Please-leave-comment-black

Categories: 1

Subscribe

Subscribe to our RSS feed and social profiles to receive updates.

6 Comments on “DIY Beautiful Button Necklace! Halloween Cat Pillow! Make Waffle and Linen Hand Towels !Cute Spindle Monsters! Watercolor Tree Tutorial! Modern Hombre Triangle Quilt Pattern! P LUS . . . Recipes, Jokes, Art, Design & Memories!”

  1. Louise
    September 10, 2014 at 3:53 PM #

    Hello Mark! I was an art major in High School. When we did the Watercolor portion of our classes, we formed a group called, The Watercolor Ducks”. We would send (hand painted) invitations to the non-art teachers to come and join us for a creativity break. It was so much fun for all of us, mostly the teachers. Many had never tried any creative activities. You reminded me of those wonderful carefree days!

    Like

  2. September 11, 2014 at 9:17 AM #

    Thanks for linking to my Chicken Pot Pie! Those candles are hilarious, I’ve got to get some!

    Like

  3. Sue Bregel
    September 11, 2014 at 9:22 AM #

    Sent from my Windows Phone ________________________________

    Like

    • September 14, 2014 at 10:41 AM #

      Thank YOU for your hard work and for the recipe! 🙂 xoxom

      Like

  4. September 11, 2014 at 11:36 AM #

    Hey mark, It’s really wonderful. I love this post, i think there is no need to give any reason of likeness. It’s just awesome, your all captured pictures are incredibly perfect.

    Like

  5. Cathy
    September 15, 2014 at 12:00 PM #

    I have linen dish towels and I use them for everything! Between Oxyclean and Biz, you can get stains out of them. BTW, IKEA has 100% linen towels from time to time.

    Like

Leave a Reply

The Duquesne Hunky

Growing Up in Duquesne, Pennsylvania

Mark Lipinski's Blog

Where creative people can be themselves. . . at last!

Ravensong's Ride

... a journey of the heart

Glorious Color Blog

Just another WordPress site

Quilt Alliance

Document - Preserve - Share

