Sew a Reversible Halloween/Thanksgiving Pillow! Mix a Caramel Appletini! Make Felt Sugar Skulls! Sewing Machine Name Tags! DIY Yarn and Burlap Acorns! Craft a Sweet Candy Corn Wreath! Crochet a Ribbed Reversible Afghan! PLUS. . . Recipes, Jokes, Art, Design & Memories!

10500469_794735810557527_3646254998409989670_n



DON’T MISS A THING, MISS THANG!

Unknown

YOKE DU YOUR 

????????????????????????????????

Honey,”” Said a husband to his wife, “I invited a friend home for supper.”
What? Are you crazy?” The wife replied. The house is a mess, I haven’t been shopping, and I don’t feel like cooking fancy meal.”
I know all that,” he said.
“Then why did you invite a friend for supper”? She asked.
He replied, “Because the poor fool’s thinking about getting married.”

tumblr_mi802z7d8z1s4xdz1o1_250

ARTspiration

Artists or art that turns me on and feeds my muse! Like it or dislike it, what about this art inspires your own art or creativity?   

51d272037b9a31bd90cce8c7bc5d6ab0

Five strands of pearls about neck, transparent gauze fichu with embroidered edge covering decolletage, pretty pink silk gown, bow at elbow length sleeve to draw attention to three tiers of delicate lace ruffles (engageantes), black velvet band around wrist (possibly with miniature portrait – out of view), gossamer thin embroidered apron – the fashionable accoutrement for fashionable ladies! Black silk shoes with gold/brass buckle. Detail: Mary, Countess Howe, 1763, Thomas Gainsborough

DESIGNspiration

Look around you. Design is everywhere! How can you incorporate the beauty that surrounds you into your art or craft?  Rococo block printed floral antique French fabric from the 1800’s in  linen cotton and China blue

45e864dc859ca49e222d91136247a0f6

IDEA I LOVE

SUGAR

It’s sugar skull season so grab some felt, floss and fun embellishments and create a bowlful, a garland or sweetly scented drawer sachets!   I love sugar skulls (not as much as my friend, Meg Cox, who loves them to almost skullicious proportions).  Maybe I need to craft and send a few to Meg?  You know, to get her all excited!   Make some starting here:

http://www.dailytelecraft.com/2011/10/diy-felt-sugar-skulls.html 

photo

250443257_Msa2cTcw_c

IDEA I LOVE

 IMG_8967-1024x1024

I love these name tags, yes, but what really turns me in is how this tutorial turns your NON-embroidery machine into a machine that embroiders the most beautiful script!  Follow along, practice, and script an original copy of the Bill of Rights onto quilters cotton using multicolored Aurifil thread!  [KIDDING!]  Stitch up a replica of the Constitution!   Here’s how (it’s really a technique you should learn):

http://www.minkikim.com/?p=1491 

IMG_8920-1024x1024

IMG_8960-2-1024x1024

GARDENspiration

I found this on http://imgend.com/w1cxQ4pS 

QDLVt2jvGbcn0yQ-w1cxQ4pS

IDEA I LOVE

fall-decor-diy-yarn-acorns

You can make these yarn and burlap acorns lickity split using just a bit of …. what else?  ….  yarn and burlap!   [what did you think I was going to say, cement and crushed glass?!?]

http://craftsncoffee.com/2014/09/11/easy-fall-decor-how-to-make-a-yarn-burlap-acorn/

YUMMY DISH!

EASY GARLIC CHICKEN

2614ffdf6977b55ce8be3da3a3038fdc

HERE’S WHAT YOU’LL NEED:

  • boneless skinless chicken breasts
  • garlic cloves, minced
  • brown sugar
  • olive oil
  • additional herbs and spices, as desired
FOR THE FULL RECIPE, CLICK HERE:  http://www.food.com/recipe/easy-garlic-chicken-5478

tumblr_mlt4cxywvr1qal3lwo1_400

BREATHLESS INSPIRATION

Oh, my dear . . .    Sam P. Gibson, an  embroidery artist and jeweler,  creates a wide variety of hand-stitched illustrations like these eye studies!

 eye-7

eye-2

eye-1

eye-3

eye-4

eye-5

eye-6

YOU’RE GOING TO WANT ONE OF THESE!

(I HAVE ONE!)

https://www.kickstarter.com/projects/69990270/quilt-shop-cuckoo-clock-2/widget/video.html

bcdfcb75cef95865ef6d8d8cd05761b1_large-1

ae8e0fbfb26da5ba699f128dea41b9d6_large

With Christmas right around the corner you are going to want to get on this special order of a QUILT SHOP CUCKOO CLOCK! This will be the last order for this year! Sign up to get your Jodie Davis designed clock on KICKSTARTER today! I’ve had one for years, and I love it. Visit here TODAY:

 https://www.kickstarter.com/projects/69990270/quilt-shop-cuckoo-clock-2?ref=nav_search

749f431bc19e630e6d39a59872e719e5_large

a37f4e820a01e3e9cade3b5d81b4b8cc_large

SO DRINK, CHUG-A-LUG CHUG-A-LUG 

CARAMEL APPLETINI

carameltini

INGREDIENTS:

  • 1 oz Vodka
  • 1 oz Sour Apple Pucker
  • 1/2 oz ButterShots
  • 3 oz Apple Cider

Shake up ingredients with ice and strain into a chilled martini glass. Garnish with slice of green apple or caramel candy piece.

FOR MORE AUTUMN COCKTAIL RECIPES VISIT:   http://celebrationsathomeblog.com/2010/11/autumn-cocktails.html

 

WORDS TO LIVE BY

aaae44b22dd31ea0d79118714043b2a5 

IDEA I LOVE

 ribbedripple

Here’s a crocheted afghan pattern that includes a little texture by crocheting in ribbed designs.  I think with just a little (and I mean little) practice, even a confident beginner could make this work.  If not, balls of yarn displayed in a basket always looks nice sitting around the house.   Here’s the pattern:

http://stitcheryprojects.com/2012/02/16/ribbed-ripple-reversible-afghan/ 

tumblr_n0t3ziSuQ11qhprtmo1_1280

MEMBA?

Admiral Ashley plastic radios. My family had a tan one that sat on the top of our refrigerator.  I vividly remember my family in the kitchen listening to the new of Robert Kennedy’s assassination one chilly morning when I got up to get ready for school.

admy3004 9b35c4a5e3f7da6a6753bc068c185cdc

 tumblr_mw380l0pMZ1r7126eo2_400

And now a word from our sponsor . . .

 SewNVac4

IDEA I LOVE!

 3cfecedd7bc5a372a535cedd405ec6fd

You can sew this reversible Halloween and Thanksgiving pillow just to irk your friends!  “Where does that hag find all of the time to make TWO different holiday pillows?!?”  Ah, envious music to our ears!   Here’s the pattern:

http://www.bhg.com/halloween/crafts/sew-reversible-halloweenthanksgiving-pillow/ 

tumblr_ncs4weujQ91s6uscuo1_500

DESSERT!

 OLD FASHIONED CAKE

 vintage-cake-inside-682x1024

HERE’S WHAT YOU’LL NEED:

  • white cake mix
  • brownie mix
  • semisweet chocolate
  • sweetened condensed milk
Cream Cheese Frosting:
  • cream cheese
  • unsalted butter
  • vanilla extract
  • confectioner’s sugar
  • milk

FOR THE FULL RECIPE, CLICK HERE: http://kitchenmeetsgirl.com/vintage-cake/

 vintage-cake-top-view

PATCHWORK, BABY!

it's hip to be square

This simple quilt is called, IT’S HIP TO BE SQUARE,  made with Michael Miller Fabric.  I am very partial to two-color quilts and love the flexibility that using and designing with just two colors give’s a designer and a quilter to feed their personal tastes. Here’s the pattern:

http://www.michaelmillerfabrics.com/inspiration/freequiltpatterns/it-s-hip-to-be-square.html

 

SHOEspiration

nmx1xy5_mx

 These are called GINGER, crystal embellished ankle bracelet sandals, by Renee Caovilla.

0-c7655a-3_91a5e2576d45caeaf38f55c0ed80d5c6

d84c037fffc0d4561068fd54a1250bda

MUST HAVE

102898201148785261_330feaebe35e

OMG!  I love this Fall of the Damned Pendant Light!  The lampshade is a limited edition of 40. With all the detail and work that went into the design and creation it is obvious that it is not cheap. It is currently being sold for $45,000.  I’ll take 3!

IDEA I LOVE!

 candy-corn-wreath-craft1

Now, this weekend, is the time to make your own DIY sweet candy corn wreath.  If not now, when?  Halloween will be here in the blink of an eye and you’ll be so sorry that your door looks as empty as my soul after an uncontrollable eating binge.   Here are the directions you’re looking for, cupcake:

 http://craftsncoffee.com/2014/09/18/candy-corn-crafts-week-diy-a-sweet-candy-corn-wreath/

 diy-candy-corn-wreath-detai


images-1

If you’re liking this blog Please tell your friends about it!

I’d really appreciate it!  xoxom


Please-leave-comment-black

Categories: 1

Subscribe

Subscribe to our RSS feed and social profiles to receive updates.

9 Comments on “Sew a Reversible Halloween/Thanksgiving Pillow! Mix a Caramel Appletini! Make Felt Sugar Skulls! Sewing Machine Name Tags! DIY Yarn and Burlap Acorns! Craft a Sweet Candy Corn Wreath! Crochet a Ribbed Reversible Afghan! PLUS. . . Recipes, Jokes, Art, Design & Memories!”

  1. Sharon Streby
    October 2, 2014 at 7:40 AM #

    Mark, Is there ever going to be any more “Quilt Out Loud” or Creative Mojo?

    Like

    • October 2, 2014 at 8:12 AM #

      I’m sorry to say there will be no more Quilt Out Loud’s. But Creative Mojo will be back, in video (I think)! 🙂 xoxom

      Like

      • Judy Mayfield
        October 2, 2014 at 8:41 AM #

        Loved the portrait and the fabric descriptions. I’ve worn blouses with lace on the sleeves but never knew they were called engageantes. Should have figured be caused my lace always “engaged” the gravy.

        Like

  2. October 2, 2014 at 7:45 AM #

    Thank you for the Thursday morning eye candy, and chuckles! I’ve loved that cuckoo clock and perhaps I shall get in line for one . . . and am downloading that red & white quilt pattern, too. Thank you for sharing the Yarn & Burlap Acorns & Glittered Candy Corn Wreath from CraftsnCoffee.com. They were both fun & easy DIYs!

    Like

  3. October 2, 2014 at 8:07 AM #

    Hey Mark! I love getting an email notification of your fun posts 🙂 I’m seriously considering that cuckoo clock – so fun! Wanted to let you know that I’m sewing that red and white quilt right now and unfortunately it is one of the most error filled pattern downloads I’ve ever seen. Thank goodness the quilt is so darned awesome or else I think I’d have thrown everything out the window by now 😳. Keep up the great work!!

    Like

  4. Judy Mayfield
    October 2, 2014 at 8:33 AM #

    Loved the portrait and the fabric descriptions. I’ve worn blouses with lace on the sleeves but never knew they were called engageantes. Should have figured be caused my lace always “engaged” the gravy.

    Sent from my iPad

    >

    Like

  5. Debi
    October 2, 2014 at 2:43 PM #

    Mark, that beautiful dress with the gauze…it is most likely not embroidered lace on it, but bobbin lace, which is also from that time period depicted by the style of the dress.

    Like

  6. Cathy Dillehay
    October 3, 2014 at 11:47 AM #

    Mark, I look forward to your amazing ideas and inspiration each time I see the email in my Inbox. Thank you so much for lighting up my life with all these pics and recipes. Love you!

    Like

  7. Sally Maxwell
    October 5, 2014 at 11:25 AM #

    Mark, I took your class in Fredricksburg VA and began the writing that you suggested this morning. As I started, I wondered how I would know that it was “working” but by the end of the three pages, I had inspiration! You said that you don’t re-read what you’ve written but I think that I will. You see, I can’t begin on my work right away because I have to take care of my family. I decided to highlight with a marker those passages that I want to re-visit. The idea being that when I’m ready to sit down and work, I can remember what I wanted to work ON and go right to it. So, first day, good result!

    Like

Leave a Reply

Mark Lipinski's Blog

Where creative people can be themselves. . . at last!

Ravensong's Ride

... a journey of the heart

Glorious Color Blog

Just another WordPress site

Quilt Alliance

Document - Preserve - Share

