Stitch Fall Leaves Embroidery Art! Paper Piece a Halloween Mug Rug! Piece a Rings of Color Batik Quilt! Knit a Pair of Falling Leaves Mittens! Mix a Batch of Pumpkin Bath Salts! Sew a Charming Key Holder! Custom Paint an Area Rug! PLUS . . . Recipes, Inspiration, Smiles, Memories, and More!

10500469_794735810557527_3646254998409989670_n



DON’T MISS A THING, MISS THANG!

Unknown

The SLOW STITCHING MOVEMENT Webinar is now ON DEMAND!

10372796_790171057688239_2586747089641107722_n

At last! The much talked about SLOW STITCHING MOVEMENT webinar is now available ON DEMAND for download directly to your computer. This is a recording of the record-breaking webinar hosted by Mark Lipinski in June. Here is the link:   http://bit.ly/1xE2l34

tumblr_nd9c4vm6Uy1r9mp00o1_500

YOKE DU YOUR  

(a joke from my buddy Bonnie Patterson)

bo_with_paper
Doug Smith is on his deathbed and knows the end is near.
His nurse, his wife, his daughter and 2 sons, are with him.
He asks for 2 witnesses to be present and a camcorder be in place
to record his last wishes, and when all is ready he begins to speak:
“My son, Bernie, I want you to take the Mayfair houses.”
“My daughter, Sybil, you take the apartments over in the east end.”
“My son, Jamie, I want you to take the offices over in the City Centre.”
“Sarah, my dear wife, please take all the residential buildings on the banks of the river.”
The nurse and witnesses are blown away as they did not realize his extensive holdings, and as Doug slips away, the nurse says, “Mrs. Smith, your husband must have been such a hard-working man to have accumulated all this property”.
Sarah replies, “Property?  The idiot had a paper route!”

ARTspiration

Artists or art that turns me on and feeds my muse! Like it or dislike it, what about this art inspires your own art or creativity?  By the 18th century Japanese artist,Hokusai.

o-HOKUSAI-900

DESIGNspiration

Look around you. Design is everywhere! How can you incorporate the beauty that surrounds you into your art or craft?  A vintage Pierre Sterle Hematite Peridot Citrine Diamond Figural Brooch.  $35,000

231396_l

IDEA I LOVE

 fall-leaves-embroidery-hoops

Here is a little fall leaf embroidery tutorial to decorate your home, embellish pillows or table runners with,  add to a jean jacket or blouse, or TO just get the hang of designing small embroidery pieces. I was just saying to myself yesterday that fall absolutely exploded on Pickle Road. Mimic some book colors in your yard in town into your  hand embroidered leaves. Here’s how:

 http://www.dosmallthingswithlove.com/2014/09/fall-leaves-embroidery-hoop-art.html

 fall-leaves-mini-embroidery-hoops

GARDENspiration

 OMG!!! I LOVE THESE! They are called habitat walls! I must build one!

Habitat_KevinLisa-500x354

dunnett_4

DSCF2447_2

7-A-colorful-and-inviting-‘Habitat-Wall’-created-by-UK-based-Green-Roof-Shelters-and-displayed-at-Ecobuild-2011.

DSCN2315

Here’s how you make ’em:  http://www.sussexwildlifetrust.org.uk/uploads/how%20to%20make%20-%20a%20habitat%20wall.pdf

IDEA I LOVE

 15468875826_3f7677fc53_z

15305329098_c0d4b51c52_z

A little paper piecing never heard anybody and you will only have to do a little paper piecing when you make these cute Halloweenish triangle mug rugs. The only thing that makes them appropriate for Halloween is the color choices, so choose your own colors for your own taste or celebration, pour yourself a cup of tea, and stop leaving moisture rings on your table! Here’s how you make them:

 http://wildolive.blogspot.com/2014/10/project-epp-halloween-ish-triangle-mug.html

15305072059_b125ef6cd9_z

YUMMY DISH!

SLOPPY JOE BISCUIT CASSEROLE

 subrecipe1

HERE’S WHAT YOU’LL NEED:

  • PAM® Original No-Stick Cooking Spray
  • ground round beef (85% lean)
  • frozen whole kernel corn
  • frozen chopped green bell pepper
  • frozen chopped onion
  • Manwich® Original Sloppy Joe Sauce
  • Van Camp’s® Pork and Beans
  • refrigerated buttermilk biscuit dough

FOR THE FULL RECIPE, CLICK HERE:  http://bit.ly/1177VAq

IDEA I LOVE

Tom-Baker-Rug-with-Dog

This is just the store-bought rug that has been painted to match someone’s decor.  Looking for the perfect colors in an area rug that you just can’t find? Then painting a  plain old rug might be just the solution you’re looking for.   There’s no reason, once you learn this technique, why you couldn’t stencil in color or even paint freehand (if  you are of the annoyingly creative and artistic variety human). Start here to learn everything you need to know:

http://ournerdhome.com/diy-doctor-who-rug/

Doctor-Who-Rug-ONH

BREAD!

STREUSEL APPLE BREAD

 A touch of lemon, chopped cranberries and walnuts make this quick bread seem like coffee cake. Norma Hendricks of Hopedale, Illinois, likes to serve this for dessert. “I made this by combining a couple of recipes 35 years ago,” Norma says. “I think I started with a cranberry bread, but most of my kids don’t like cranberries. Then I saw an apple bread recipe, and I thought streusel would be good on top.”.

 101183047-Streusel-Apple-Bread_2

HERE’S WHAT YOU’LL NEED:

  • flour
  • apple
  • butter, softened
  • sugar
  • eggs
  • vanilla
  • baking soda
  • salt
  • sour milk or orange juice
  • cranberries
  • walnuts
  • 1brown sugar
  • lemon peel
  • butter

FOR THE FULL RECIPE, CLICK HERE:  http://bit.ly/1vhmDBw

BREATHLESS INSPIRATION

Serbia-born, Denmark-based artist Vladimir Stankovic crafts enchanting GIFs that don’t just capture entire stories in each frame, but entire worlds.  these are so wonderful and weird I had to share them with you, cupcake.  http://www.huffingtonpost.com/2014/10/03/vladimir-stankovic_n_5889106.html?utm_hp_ref=arts

vladimir9

vladimir6

vladimir10

vladimir7

NEW JERSEY — THIS FRIDAY!

I will be presenting The Slow Stitching Movement lecture, LIVE, on Friday, October 17, 2014, for the Hunterdon County Quilting Guild in Readington, New Jersey at 9:30 AM (refreshments will be served). Here’s the address: Readington Reformed Church; 124 Readington Road; Readington, NJ. (between White House Station and Flemington).  See you there! xoxom

SLOW LOGO FRONT PAGE

 tumblr_lh7fp7KzzT1qhwlfwo1_500

SO DRINK, CHUG-A-LUG CHUG-A-LUG 

CINNAMON WATER

506b32dbdbd0cb30850018b6._w.540_h.360_s.fit_

INGREDIENTS

  •  water
  • cinnamon sticks

FOR THE FULL RECIPE VISIT: http://www.thekitchn.com/try-this-cinnam-162828

 

WORDS TO LIVE BY

97ec8fa4294ce1945e25f40f997990e1 

IDEA I LOVE

 case16-1024x682

I carry my keys on a ring, but this is the perfect key holder  for that “extra” key that you might place in the hands  of a trusted neighbor or relative in case of emergencies. There is little chance they’ll misplace this one-of-a-kind key keep, and it’s a nice reminder to them not to screw with, or challenge, your creative powers!  Here’s how you make one:

http://www.minkikim.com/?p=1634 

case18-1024x682

MEMBA?

Crisco oil in a brown glass bottle.

1959-new-crisco-oil-by-roadsidepictures

IDEA I LOVE!

 IMG_2721

Late at night I can begin to feel bite of cold and wet in the autumn air. If you really keep your fingers warm this fall and winter, you had better dig out your knitting needles, by some gorge lush yarns, and start this beautiful falling leaves mittens  knitting project. I prefer mittens over gloves, so maybe I’ll make a pair of mittens for myself this season — minus the frills and flowers.  Here’s the pattern:

 http://www.justcraftyenough.com/2014/09/project-falling-leaves-mittens/ 

15062793940_0d553221bb

And now a word from our sponsor . . .

 SewNVac4

DESSERT!

CIDER-SPIKED APPLE AND PECAN TART

Cider-Spiked-Tart-101889998_w

HERE’S WHAT YOU’LL NEED:

  • butter
  • pecans
  • brown sugar
  • flour
  • salt
  • eggs
  • ice water
  • firm-tart apples (such as Rome Beauty, Stayman Winesap, Granny Smith, Idared, Northern Spy)
  • granulated sugar
  • cider, applejack, apple brandy or dry sherry
  • lemon juice
  • apple jelly
  • hipped cream

FOR THE FULL RECIPE, CLICK HERE: http://www.midwestliving.com/recipe/cider-spiked-apple-and-pecan-tart/

PATCHWORK, BABY!

quilt

 Add a lot of batiky color to your wintry rooms by piecing this Rings of Color Batik quilt.  This quilt is made with pre-cut squares and rolls. Just looking at it makes you happy, doesn’t it?  Here’s the pattern, kiddo:

http://www.michaelmillerfabrics.com/inspiration/freequiltpatterns/rings-of-color-batik-quilt.html 

quilt2

SHOEspiration

WOARHD870002BLK_1_large

ALEXANDER MCQUEEN, Leaf-embellished velvet ankle boots.  $1,537

WOARHD870002BLK_3_large

MUST HAVE

 698840962436177214_0de13fb8c6af-1

 In spite of the fact I don’t consider myself an electronics geek, I am finding that I am using my iPad in the kitchen an awful lot. I’m always cooking using recipes from the Internet that I need to reference, and sometimes I even watch movies while in preparing dinner. That’s why I love this under cabinet iPad dock. I really need one…

http://fancy.com/things/698840962436177214/Under-Cabinet-iPad-Dock?utm=shop 

IDEA I LOVE!

 Pumpkin-spice-DIY-bath-salts-Crafts-Unleashed-1

 Nothing is better than a soaking top during a cold and windy autumnal night. Here’s a quick way to make your own spicy pumpkin bath salts for soaking away the day and relaxing you for evening stitching. Here’s how you make them (and what a great hostess gift for Thanksgiving, right?):

http://www.craftsunleashed.com/seasonal/fall/pumpkin-diy-bath-salts/ 

Pumpkin-spice-DIY-bath-salts-Crafts-Unleashed-2

*******************  question-of-the-day *******************

There are only about a million quilting and sewing creative retreats being advertised in any given year.  It got me thinking . . .

  • What is it you look for when considering to go on a creative retreat?
  • Are classes and workshops and learning your priority or is it the location, the amenities or ‘extras?’
  • How important are nationally known teachers and speakers vs. being with your sewing buddies?
  • Do you prefer projects on all of the days or would you like a “free project” sewing time included?
  •  what makes you want to go on a retreat?   What would you say are the top three most important elements to a retreat?
  • Can you give me some examples of retreat you have been on that have been both an amazing retreat experience and/or a  crash and burn retreat experience ( no need to mention names)?

I really appreciate you helping me out by answering some of these questions. Please leave your feedback in the comments section!  Thanks!    xoxom

Pin_cushion

please-leave-comment-black

Categories: 1

Subscribe

Subscribe to our RSS feed and social profiles to receive updates.

14 Comments on “Stitch Fall Leaves Embroidery Art! Paper Piece a Halloween Mug Rug! Piece a Rings of Color Batik Quilt! Knit a Pair of Falling Leaves Mittens! Mix a Batch of Pumpkin Bath Salts! Sew a Charming Key Holder! Custom Paint an Area Rug! PLUS . . . Recipes, Inspiration, Smiles, Memories, and More!”

  1. Deborah Bright
    October 12, 2014 at 10:42 AM #

    On a retreat, I like to sew my own things, the beds must be comfortable, and the sewing are must be well lit and large.

    Like

  2. Sally Maxwell
    October 12, 2014 at 10:42 AM #

    I’ve never been on a creative retreat as such, but I usually take classes at the Mid-Atlantic Quilt show in Hampton VA (a four day local gathering). I seek out nationally known teachers because someone has already “vetted” them. I never seem to finish the project within the time alloted! Usually that means that there are too many techniques to learn in one session so it might be nice to have someone to consult when/if I run into trouble (free time to sew would be helpful). As far as location goes, I’d love to try a sewing cruise but I think it would be distracting. I mean, who would want to be inside sewing when you could have an experience of a lifetime out in the world? I used to go to scrapbooking “crop weekends” to a nearby hotel with like-minded friends and that was the best: time to work, time to talk, time to eat without feeling that you were missing something. Short instruction time then free to get something done! Finally, don’t you think that you learn from the others in the class, too? A certain amount of time for walking around to look at other’s work is beneficial. Some time for chatting in the context of the lesson would be helpful.

    Like

    • October 12, 2014 at 10:54 AM #

      Sally, quilt cruses are great fun. Classes only happen on the days at sea. Check out Quilt Seminars at Sea.

      Like

  3. Stevii
    October 12, 2014 at 10:52 AM #

    As with most things, it is the people around you that makes a retreat. I don’t want a structured class because I want time to chit chat with everyone. Love seeing new ideas, so demos are always great. I want clean and safe where I stay, but don’t want to pay for the Ritz.

    Like

  4. Auntie Pat
    October 12, 2014 at 11:15 AM #

    I agree with Stevii, the people you are with make it. I have attended formal traing classes and took a lot out of it however I love just getting away for 3 to 4 days to focus on my projects. Usually on the “our own retreats” we have a show and tell and talk about some new technic to us and demonstrate it. Also share projects we made over the past year.

    Like

  5. October 12, 2014 at 11:17 AM #

    Mostly I look for a weekend when I can work, chat about quilting and other things, eat and sleep without distractions. I don’t want to have to bring my own towels, or cook or any regular household chores.
    Locations within an hour or two of home are preferred. Near a quilt shop is great.
    i have done both a weekend retreat with a project focus and do your own and I prefer the latter. I have so much fabric and so many ideas that a project retreat might not be something I want to do or that I have fabric that suits the project.
    Food is a big part of the retreat. Great menus with 2-3 choices for main courses is appreciated.
    A location that is able to meet the needs of quilters – electricity, light, irons.
    We do a show and share and sometimes have a speaker as part of the retreat. Over the course of the retreat there is always shared learning about something – a new ruler, a particular technique, how to use a pipe-cleaner to clean the dust out of your machine.
    I like 4 days better than 3 because you waste 1/2 the first day getting there and 1/2 the last day getting home. Yes it has to be away from home.
    The price needs to be reasonable. $130-150 (Canadian) a day for a shared room is okay.

    Like

  6. Candy S
    October 12, 2014 at 11:45 AM #

    I have been at Thunder Bay retreat 3 times. I enjoy the structure and the nationally known presenters that I’ve met. (It’s great to say that I’ve met and worked with Mark Lipinski and Eleanor Burns!) I have also attended quilt retreats where we “do our own thing.” I prefer the structured approach. I want to learn, to meet people, to relax, and to sew. Comfort is huge! Cost is also a factor. Pamper me!

    Like

  7. Carol Premack
    October 12, 2014 at 12:46 PM #

    The reason that I go on quilt retreats is for three days of sewing time with friends—no cooking or cleaning and the only errands are to a quilt shop or to a restaurant. One of my quilt groups has an annual retreat at a motel less than an hour’s drive. Our sewing space is one large light-filled space with room for 35-40 quilters, plus cutting table and ironing boards. (I’ve been to retreats at a camp, and much prefer less rustic accommodations!) Our retreats are Thursday-Sunday and we have two motel-catered dinners. The motel offers a continental breakfast, lunch is available at the restaurant across the parking lot, and there are also lots of snacks (brought from home). The price is about $60 a night for a double room. There is an option to spend one, two, or three nights. Some people room alone, some have up to three roommates, with price adjusted accordingly.
    We used to have a project/class available but found that most of us just want to do our own projects. We learn from each other, laugh a lot, and many people accomplish an amazing around of sewing during the weekend. Some of us, not so much, but that’s OK—we have a wonderful time anyway.
    Friends, fun, fabric, and food…(and some chocolate!)—what could be better!?

    Like

  8. Louise
    October 12, 2014 at 2:46 PM #

    I go on a retreat with my quilt group every year in March. We don’t cook, but the food is wonderful. We sew into the wee hours and talk a lot. We have quilt projects for every ability and we encourage everyone to also complete UFOs. This is a special time to get to know new people and share our interests with like. Relax, sew, eat and sleep makes for a refreshing return to the ”daily grind”. Louise

    Like

  9. October 12, 2014 at 6:41 PM #

    I will have to ponder the retreat question. In the meantime, wouldn’t those habitat walls make amazing patterns for art quilts? 😉

    Like

  10. Mrs. Plum
    October 13, 2014 at 1:10 AM #

    Mark. I think you are asking two different questions. One is about quilt retreats, and one is about classes. I’ve only done two day mini-retreats with one of my small quilt groups. It’s close by, so we go home each night. We work on our own projects, but everyone is available to help baste a quilt. I love the commraderie and concentrated work time, but hate lugging my stuff. We do a potluck for lunches, then go out for dinner together on the second day.

    I love to take week-long quilting classes (same class/instructor all week) with nationally known speakers. I’ve had the privilege of taking two classes through Empty Spools Seminars in Pacific Grove, California. The rooms and food are fine, and I adored the intensive learning. There is time to hear from the other teachers and to view other projects. Did I mention that the ocean is across the road? I’m saving my money to go back.

    Like

  11. Sue
    October 13, 2014 at 12:41 PM #

    I love your blog and jokes. keep ’em coming.

    Sue =^..^= x 5 I am only one person. There are many things I cannot do, but there are also many things I can do. I will not let the things I can’t do prevent me from doing the things I can do.

    Like

  12. Kathy Fictorie
    October 14, 2014 at 2:53 PM #

    I have only been to a limited number of retreats. Northwest Iowa is not known for a great variety of them! The retreats that I have enjoyed the most are those at which all my favorite quilting buddies are joining me, we can work on our own projects, and the accommodations are clean, neat and there is plenty of food! We usually only stay for two days as most of us have kids still at home and husbands who work!

    Like

  13. Sharon Brown-Adams
    October 16, 2014 at 3:33 PM #

    I love going to retreats with my quilting friends. As long as there is space for us to cook for ourselves, good lighting and comfortable chairs, we are good. I have gone to retreats with national teachers and they are OK, it’s always fun to learn new techniques, but the best is with old and new friends.

    Like

Leave a comment

The Duquesne Hunky

Growing Up in Duquesne, Pennsylvania

Mark Lipinski's Blog

Where creative people can be themselves. . . at last!

Ravensong's Ride

My 35,000 mile, 5 year Cross Country Journey.......

Quilt Alliance

Document - Preserve - Share