Who’s watching Grandma!?!

Forgive me, Pickles!  

I don’t know whether to laugh or cry for this poor lady.   I do find the story that I’m about to tell more than a tad amusing and totally disturbing to say the least (OK, not really that distrubing). 

Apparently,  A 78-year old woman for Sweden didn ‘t quite get the check-in at the Stockholm airport, so the poor dear  grabbed her suitcase, jumped onto the unattended motorized luggage conveyor with it and, after a short ride, slid right down the baggage chute.   Reports are that the poor dear didn’t suffer any injuries and still managed to make her flight.   She must have had her Baby Lock in the bag!  What else could make you hang on to a suitcase for dear life? 

Can you imagine what her family is going to say?
 

Ohhhh Luuuuucy!  You got some ‘splainin’ to do!

Hmmmmm…what’s next?

OK, I have to fess up about something that happened at the Thunder Bay retreat.   I’ve been called out by the students and dared to tell on the Pickle Posse list.

When we check in, each particpant is given a small kit and asked to make their own name tag.  In the kit is fabrics, a photocopied horned elk applique pattern, fusible, plastic covering for the name tag, etc. etc. 

 Here’s the the end result of the finished name tag is supposed to look like.  This name tag is that of the Thunder Bay coordinator, Pam Achutz.

Here’s another. . .

 

 

Here’s mine . . .

 

 

 

 

Keep looking . . .

 

 

 

 Ooops!

I could have sworn that they asked for a HORNY elk.   So, that’s my interpretation of the name tag (Amazingly, it took me less than 15-minutes in the workshop before I was inspired).

Forgive me, Father, for I have sinned . . .   (but what else is new?)

But that’s not all. . .  

The workshop I taught at Thunder Bay  is not a workshop where I allow much ironing.  MOST students listen.  ONE did not and thought she’d sneak in her own iron and press while I wasn’t looking.  Well, Miss Thang wasn’t looking either.    

 

 

Fabric for a Simple Simon   $90

Pattern for a Simple Simon $8.50

A small travel iron   $34.99

Melting a hole in your host’s table     PRICELE$$

Drumroll , please. . .

 

  

 

Have you seen these? 

These posters have been popping up in quilt shops around the world, in the shops that have ordered and sell the entire line of califon!   I’m knocking on wood because the sales have been amazing!  Thank you, turnips!

krakow

As promised, today cupcakes, is the first public look at my new line, krakow, inspired by my collection of Polish stoneware pottery.   You get first gaze and I hope you like it . . .

 

Here is the red line (they go PERFECTLY with the califon black & whites)!

 

 

 

And there’s more!

I’ve designed 25 lucious blenders, too!   I can’t wait to show you those — keep looking.  I’ll post them in a few weeks!  

FRIENDS AND FOES

   Here’s a link to Bonnie Browning’s blog.  I love this chick!  http://bonniebrowningblog.blogspot.com/2008/09/nashville-quilt-expo-was-great-fun.html

Categories: 1

Subscribe

Subscribe to our RSS feed and social profiles to receive updates.

16 Comments on “Who’s watching Grandma!?!”

  1. Robin in DE
    September 1, 2008 at 11:33 PM #

    Mark! I choked and snorted water on the nametag! Only you.

    Krakow if GORGEOUS. I was drooling, scrolling down the blues. Then, I hid the red line. I MUST HAVE IT!! You outdo yourself every time!

    Congrats!
    Robin in DE

    Like

  2. Robin in DE
    September 1, 2008 at 11:34 PM #

    wow… too many typos in that last comment… it shows how excited I am about Krakow! I meant to say Krakow IS gorgeous. Then, I HIT the red line.

    Geez. Must get some sleep.

    Like

  3. September 1, 2008 at 11:49 PM #

    Hey Mark….
    Your nametag….I am so NOT surprised!
    Krakow….hey that is great, and a total different spin than the last two cool…Love the reds! The blues are wonderful too. (I like the butterflies better in the blues) Looking forward to working with them!
    Swedish grandma story…..HAHAHAHAHA!!!
    I am laughing too, even though I probably shouldn’t ……

    Like

  4. Sue
    September 1, 2008 at 11:50 PM #

    Mark,

    Your fabrics are awesome. They have a retro groove, but modern at the same time. The blue/green stripe-and-flower reminds me of wallpaper I had as a kid! Can’t wait to see the blenders…I’m in desparate need of some solids! (OK, maybe not need…)

    Sue in NJ

    Like

  5. September 1, 2008 at 11:55 PM #

    OK, the name tag did it! A perfectly good mouthful of wine all over my monitor.

    Love the new line entirely and can’t wait to see what you have come up with for blenders.

    Like

  6. September 1, 2008 at 11:55 PM #

    The butterflies in the Krakow collection are my favorite, especially the blue and green. My son would go for the red and black collection. Mark, it must feel really sweet to see your creativity end up in a fabric line! I did some checking and finally some shops in Minnesota will be carrying your lines, and one of them is only 30 minutes from my house! I’ll be heading there at the end of the week in search of the Califon line in yellows. 🙂

    Like

  7. Stephanie
    September 2, 2008 at 12:41 AM #

    I read about the Swedish woman. I would give my eye teeth to have seen the face on the person that told her to put her bags on the conveyor only to have her get on too!

    Love your fabric lines. Can’t wait to get it.

    Like

  8. Stephanie
    September 2, 2008 at 12:46 AM #

    and…..this goes along with your name tag thing….. I don’t want to even want to tell you what I “thought” the balloon sewing machine was at first glance. LOL

    Like

  9. Hope
    September 2, 2008 at 3:26 AM #

    We (my husband and son and myself) loved the name tag! And the Krakow fabric is awesome. I love Polish pottery, tried 3 times to go to Poland while living in Germany. It really makes me remember them. Now I have to talk my husband into letting get some!! Won’t be hard, wink, wink. Look forward to seeing more

    Like

  10. September 2, 2008 at 12:15 PM #

    Ha ha ha ha ha ha, loooooove the bonking moose!!!!

    Oh and the new fabric – aw man where do I start? Just awesome and I especially love the blue colourways ….. *sigh* more fabric to buy. Eeek!

    🙂

    Like

  11. Mary Lou
    September 2, 2008 at 1:21 PM #

    Love your new fabric line. The reds are especially cool. Can’t wait to get some!

    Like

  12. Regina
    September 2, 2008 at 5:00 PM #

    I am loving the blue Krakow!! And the red too now that I think about it 🙂
    I can’t wait to get a peek at the blenders. Keep on Keepin’ on Mark, I am loving your fabrics!

    Like

  13. September 2, 2008 at 9:16 PM #

    Love, love, love the new Krakow line. You can’t get too much blue for this chick!
    xoxo

    Like

  14. BCQuilter
    September 7, 2008 at 4:53 AM #

    Oh my gosh… I haven’t stopped laughing over the name tag… completely unexpected! GREAT JOB!

    I am liking your Krakow line! The blues had me, but the reds are making a good fight.

    -Alice

    Like

  15. October 21, 2008 at 11:46 PM #

    You’re so arty-farty – even when you’re being naughty – the name tag is hilarious! Love the fabric too.

    Like

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Blue Nickel Studios » Blog Archive » 129: SO BUSY….where does time go? - November 2, 2008

    […] that reminds me that I have a quilt that I designed with his califon line, and he already has krakow out! (scroll way down in this last link,ok?) Man, I wish I could send a clone to work, […]

    Like

Leave a comment

The Duquesne Hunky

Growing Up in Duquesne, Pennsylvania

Mark Lipinski's Blog

Where creative people can be themselves. . . at last!

Ravensong's Ride

My 35,000 mile, 5 year Cross Country Journey.......

Quilt Alliance

Document - Preserve - Share