Bway-nose Dee-ass, Turtles!

Hey Cupcakes,

surrender-dorothy

Boy, the wind is blowing on Pickle Road.  Yes, we’re getting the same high, damaging winds that have raced across the US this week.  As a matter of fact, I heard a tree fall in the back of the house and when I looked out the window, I could have sworn that I saw the struggling  wicked witch of the midwest, Fabrica, riding her spartan broom across the New Jersey sky.   

Batten the Hatches

Speaking of wind we lost several trees at Pickle Road today (not to mention that the electricitykeeps going off and on).  It’s not a big deal because the trees were in the woods, and didn’t crash through the house or pool but I hate to hear that snap.   Of course, we now have fireplace wood for next winter. 

 blenders-021

blenders-019

blenders-016 

But even with all of the wind, it’s nice that the snow has melted and we get to see the stream in the backyard when it trips and falls. 

blenders-018

Irish Quilting

Just a note that I’m in the new Irish Quilting magazine that’s about to hit the stands.  Its’ a new publication, written and published in Ireland — so you might want to take a look.   Besides my short interview (and very handsome photoshopped, thin-bodied and baby-assed-skin photo), is a pattern in two colorways designed  by Toby Preston using my krakow line.  Along with the address of an Irish quilt shop — that carries  the fabric (pretty neat)!   In the US of A you can order the fabric  for these quilts directly from Toby at www.kindredquilts.com  or check with your local quilt shop!

 

Lonni’s New Line

Speaking of fabric, I got the most beautiful fabric samples from Andover’s Lonni Rossi today.  The line is called Black & Tan.  They are spectacular (in a very Lonni way) with hits of sparkle and gold. Trust me when I tell you that the photos do them no justice!

blenders-0321

blenders-0311

blenders-0232

blenders-0241

blenders-0251

blenders-0261

blenders-0271

blenders-0281

blenders-0291

 New Book

I also got a new book in the mail.  It’s called THE KITCHEN LINENS BOOK by EllynAnne Geisel, whom I met several times at various markets.  

kitchen-linens-book

I kinda like this book.  It has projects and even a vintage Butterick transfer in an attached envelope.  If you’re into this style of textile design or collecting then you should seriously take a look at it. 

Bit the Bullet

Shit and damn!  I just can’t stop spending money.  Even as the “D” word is being tossed around (depression), I’m doing my personal best to save the economy.

Yes, turtles, I bought the Amazon Kindle

kindle

Now I didn’t get it yet, but how could I resist (you know a boy and his toys)?  It’s the second generation of the Kindle- Kindle 2.  I love the Text to Speech function on this new one — it’ll read to you!  It will be released on February 24 but I think there’s a waiting list (so I’m not the only crazy one), so I may not get it for 6 or more weeks. 

 

DO NOT SCROLL DOWN IF YOU ARE SQUIMISH

I’m warning you!

I am appalled. 

 Believe it or not, I happened to find these very objectionable les objets d’art online while I was searching for a soda cooler of all things! I’m not kidding you and these are not a photoshop joke.   They are squirrel feet earrings and they came from an Etsy.com shop. 

Here’s the link to the most disgusting jewelry ever.  I’m not even sure it should be legal!  Ugh!  I’m really horrified, and revolted  by them.   Now, I’m sure my friend Amy would wear these.  But I, myself, would pass. 

Until next time, turnips!   xoxom

 

Categories: 1

Subscribe

Subscribe to our RSS feed and social profiles to receive updates.

25 Comments on “Bway-nose Dee-ass, Turtles!”

  1. February 13, 2009 at 1:17 AM #

    Its good to see you back doing the blog thing. I have missed you.

    Like

  2. February 13, 2009 at 1:52 AM #

    Wohoo! Great to have you back blogging. I know that is selfish of me, but boy you know how to make a gal chuckle, hoot, and holler. The family thinks I am nuts now!

    Like

  3. February 13, 2009 at 2:37 AM #

    Fabrica flew through here night before last. Whoa, was she windy. That wind rattled my sewing room windows like somebody was knockin’ on them and my room is above the garage!! Good to see you blogging again. I love to see all the places you visit. 🙂

    Like

  4. john
    February 13, 2009 at 2:49 AM #

    totally gross but
    i could have used those in a show-
    i ordered mice skeletons and the craftperson made earrings-

    john in nc

    Like

  5. February 13, 2009 at 3:23 AM #

    You don’t know me but…I’m a huge fan of the magazine and now your blog (and Facebook, and…JK) I wanted to just thank you for being you and bringing a breath of fresh air (and attitude!) into the quilting world. I don’t know any quilters my age so I appreciate having your humor and magazine to go to when I’m feeling abandoned in QuiltLandia. Thanks again!

    Like

  6. Kes
    February 13, 2009 at 5:36 AM #

    Those earrings — EWWW! (and I say this as a person who scavenges bones in the woods). My cats would eat them right off my ears!

    Like

  7. Pat Rosenthal
    February 13, 2009 at 9:02 AM #

    I am NOT squimish but those squirrel feet earrings are AWFUL. They take me back to a visit to Cumberland Island off the coast of Georgia when I visited in the early 80’s. One of Thomas (Andrew was the one who used his $ to fund the libraries) Carnegie’s great grand-daughters was making and selling necklaces made with dangling deer rib bones and bollo tie clasps from skeleton feet from the armadillos that she caught on the island and cleaned the meat off the bones! She even painted the nails with flame red fingernail polish! They were just too weird for me but she had an order for a dozen John F. Kennedy Jr. He was going to give them to all his friend that year for Christmas. These furry things are even worse, I believe.

    Like

  8. JLN
    February 13, 2009 at 11:45 AM #

    those earning are nasty

    Like

  9. February 13, 2009 at 1:03 PM #

    Totally gross earrings. We have plenty of squirrels running around here. I can’t imagine anyone wearing their feet!

    Like

  10. Bonnie
    February 13, 2009 at 1:42 PM #

    The Irish Quilter link has your name spelled incorrectly. Unless they are talking about someone else……
    Vote for Your Workshop Location: Mark Lipinksi
    I’m waiting to find out where I can purchase the magazine.

    Like

  11. Sandy Dailey
    February 13, 2009 at 1:52 PM #

    Good to see you are keeping with your New Year’s resolution. The squirrel foot earring are just God awful. Imagine of all of the little crawly noseeums that could infest them. EEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEWWWWWWWWWWWWW!!!

    Like

  12. Daryl
    February 13, 2009 at 2:40 PM #

    Great to see you back. Great post as usual.

    Like

  13. Linda
    February 13, 2009 at 3:02 PM #

    What great luck on Friday the 13th! I found a new blog entry from you! Thanks!

    Like

  14. Suzy
    February 13, 2009 at 5:56 PM #

    Mark, you will LOVE your Kindle! Mine has gone with me on trips to Greece, Ireland and a Caribbean cruise and everyone who sees it falls in love with it. Mine only has about 20 books on it though. And it’s the first version, but still……

    Like

  15. Janet Brady
    February 13, 2009 at 6:23 PM #

    Hey Mark,

    It’s so great to have you back in the blogosphere! I thought you had given up there for a while. I can’t wait to get the Irish quilting mag. With my children named Kelly and Colleen Brady, I think it’s probably compulsory. I also love the Black and Tan fabric line. Maybe I’ll use it for a quilt for Kelly. Her “son” is a black and tan dachshund named Sammy. I am also a fan of ginko leaves. Keep posting often. It always brightens my school day to laugh at what you write!

    Like

  16. ABB
    February 14, 2009 at 12:10 AM #

    HA! I would NOT wear those squirrel feet earrings! The very idea! I started to wonder who on God’s green earth would even THINK to make something like that when I read the seller’s instructions: “please to conversation with me…” Never mind, that says it all for me.

    We lost power for 7 hours. I’m not complaining, it was gone for 3 days when the last high winds came through.

    Well, I know you wouldn’t wear the squirrel jewelry without having cooked the squirrel for dinner first! LOLOL :O Love you, Buehler! xoxom

    Like

  17. Di
    February 14, 2009 at 2:42 AM #

    The “artist” says these are “professionally” freeze dried squirrel feet jewelry. Well, in that case, I’ll take a dozen. These are far superior to the “amateur” freeze drive squirrel feet jewelry.

    Like

  18. February 15, 2009 at 3:03 AM #

    you know we’re all gonna click on that link! squeamish or not!

    Like

  19. February 15, 2009 at 3:03 AM #

    WOW….you know when people tell me not to look…well that just drives me crazy…so I looked…those ARE disgusting!

    It is good to have you back at the blog again. THEY are hard to keep up with aren’t they?!? My oldest son’s birthday celebrations are the weekend you are over here in Puyallup, Washington, but I will see you at Pittsburgh, as long as my flights make it there okay… 🙂

    Like

  20. Fran
    February 15, 2009 at 1:37 PM #

    Those are horrible and for what it’s worth I complained to the Etsy people about it.

    Like

  21. Valerie Hutchinson
    February 15, 2009 at 11:50 PM #

    Mark,

    Just curious. Did you ever go to school in Philadelphia? West Oak Lane to be specific?

    Nope. West Allegheny Senior High School, Imperial, PA and Edinboro State College, Edinboro, PA

    Like

  22. BCQuilter
    February 16, 2009 at 7:02 AM #

    A new magazine… that’s why! An online friend of mine sent me the link to that magazine sometime ago, but it didn’t show anything except a cover page. Now I know why!

    Lonni’s new fabric line looks like fun! Thanks for sharing that.

    The squirrel feet were not to bad… the pigeon feet on the other hand…

    Good to see you back, Mark.

    -Alice

    Like

  23. February 18, 2009 at 6:23 PM #

    I stared at that jewelry thinking feathers and then read ‘squirrel feet’ and eeeewwwwwww! That’s worse than Hell Thursdays for worst knitting creations. There’s a link to it if you want to wallow in awful stuff on my website Subversive Stitchers. I must admit that your controversy has been excellent for my site since Gwen Magee was kind enough to guest blog about her art that was featured in your magazine.

    Your beautiful fabric designs!

    I enjoy your eclectic list of goodies in your blog.

    Dawn
    Subversive Stitchers: Women Armed with Needles

    Like

  24. Sherry
    February 21, 2009 at 8:30 PM #

    Hey! thanks for the shout out. Nice blogging!
    cheers!

    Like

  25. April 8, 2009 at 5:46 AM #

    The article in Irish Quilting is great. You can order or subscribe to the magazine through Stonehouse Publications. equilter also had copies for sale. It is a beautiful magazine. The shop I work for is also in the McCall’s Quilting April 2009 issue….great issue 🙂

    Like

Leave a comment

The Duquesne Hunky

Growing Up in Duquesne, Pennsylvania

Mark Lipinski's Blog

Where creative people can be themselves. . . at last!

Ravensong's Ride

My 35,000 mile, 5 year Cross Country Journey.......

Quilt Alliance

Document - Preserve - Share