tues-day-on-pic-kle

 Happy Tuesday Pickles! 

The SUN is out!  paris-moon.jpg

Ooops!  That’s Paris Hilton’s MOON.

 sun.jpg   Ah, that’s better! 

Deer in the yard…eating Jeff’s bushes!  YIKES!  deer1.jpg

Jeff and I drove to Clinton, New Jersey again to take in the show by Cuban artists at the Hunterdon County Art Museum the other day (this Cuban thing is beginning to become a weird theme).   We had to drive through the neighboring town of Oldwick, so we stopped for coffee and snacks.   I thought I’d share the town with you….

OLDWICK

main-st-oldwick.jpg  This is the Oldwick General Store and the main street of Oldwick.   It’s just a stone’s throw from Pickle Road and this is the joint where I get my coffee on my way to the airport and to my local quilt shop!

old-gen-store.jpg  oldwick-gen-store.jpg

What I love about this store is that the floors are original and it still holds the ambiance of the old days.  I like how they have old, antique shoes and lanterns hanging from the wooden ceiling.  

oldwick-gen-store-ceiling.jpg gen-store-with-ceiling.jpg

Now, in spite of what you see on the main street, this place smells of old money.  treasure-chest-with-gold-coins-and-pearls-b11820.jpg    Some of the surrounding farms and estates are breathtaking.  Former NJ governor Christie Whitman has a place here. 

 whitman600.jpg

It’s horse country! I’m sure these folks participated in the horse competitions with the

aae71933-02.jpg Jackie Kennedy’s who had a farm in another close town, Gladstone and Peapack (yeah, Malcom Forbes lived there, too.) forbes.jpg

oldwick-library.jpg  This is the library. The homes and businesses on the main street are Victorians.   There is a farm stand on the main drag where you can pick apples and peache when they are in season.

 The General Store has the best homemade apple turnovers  ever — and they are gigantic.   By the time we got there, at 11-ish, they were already sold out, so we got the apricot and strawberrry twists (which were still warm). 

gen-store-cakes.jpg gen-store-pastries.jpg

Across the street from the General Store is Zion Lutheran Church and the old, original cemetary. 

new-germantown-sign.jpg

oldwick-church.jpg zion-lutheran.jpg

graveyard.jpg 

The dates on the grave to the left are b. 1784 d 1833  cmentary.jpg

Clinton

clinton-antique.jpg door-sign.jpg

I loved this soapbox derby display in the old Pharmacy window.  My dad made mine and I can still remember how angry he was that we lost!   Old habits die hard.   I used to do Evan’s stuff for him!   box-car-2.jpg

cute-boots.jpg  Boots in the window that I thought you’d like. They look good but I bet they don’t look so good after a week of snow and slush.

This is the Hunterdon Art Museum.  It used to be a grist mill. hunterdon-art-museum-026.jpg

While looking out the side windows of the museum, I got a few good shots of the Red Mill across the pond.   It’s one of my favorite places — during every season.

red-mill-037.jpg redmill.jpg

My attempt at artsy.  I need to stick to quilting.   All original floors and structure.

stair1.jpg    stairs-2.jpg

A few weeks ago, on the Pickle List, we chatted about using human hair in knitting and crafting projects.   I took this photo — of one of the exhibits at the museum. It represents the flag of Cuba and is made from human hair that is wrapped and affixed to the piece to pay homage to the soul and people of Cuba. 

hair-flag.jpg

hair-one.jpg hair-two.jpg

In the studio area there was some kid art.  I liked the primitive way this was put together — and given it is made of fabric — a quilt of sorts, I snapped it for you.   I love that puce color!

kid-art-full.jpg

kid-art-2.jpg kid-art-tree.jpg

Last night we ended up at my favorite supermarket in Bridgewater, New Jersey.  It’s a Pennsylvania chain called Wegman’s.   It is remarkable and if you can’t find what you’re looking for there, then it hasn’t been invented yet!   

wegmans-023.jpg

The place is massive.  These pics don’t do it justice! 

wegmans-024.jpg

wegmans-030.jpg

wegmans-026.jpg

Look at only a PART of their candy section.  I couldn’t fit it in but it goes on for miles.   By the way, what a nice stripe those colors would make as a quilt border.

candy.jpg

We found this GIANT Chinese grapefruit.  It was MASSIVE! wegmans-025.jpg

I ended up buying lox and bagels for Evan (it’s his favorite).

 

lox.jpg  bagels.jpg

I thought that these were kind of weird and unique.  Maybe the latest thing for summer? curved-kabobs.jpg

One of my spring favorites is the Hyacinth.  They were only $5-bucks.  We bought a few. I love that smell.   I was half tempted to buy an orchid, too, but I’d kill the damn thing.

hyacynths.jpg

orchids.jpg  Aren’t they amazing.  And not very expensive at all!

Now when I see pottery, I’m always on the look out for designs that can be turned into patchwork or applique.   Here’s what I found that night:

more-pottery.jpg

pottery-2.jpg

pottery-3.jpg  pottery.jpg

I don’t ever remember seeing this color on a Heinz product before but I really, really like it.  I’m now on the hunt for fabric of the same color!  Neat-o, eh?

beans.jpg

PROJECTS:

I finally finished writing the Foreward for Karen Griska’s new AQS book.   Shit, that was hard!  I’d never written a Foreward before and I panicked!   Funny?  Serious?   Dr. Spock?  Dr. Doolittle?   I hope she likes it.  I release it tomorrow.

 I’m still plugging along on my own book.  That’s another cross to bear.  I never dreamed it would be this difficult.  Of course, I am my worst critic and I want it PERFECT.   I hope to have that off to C&T by Friday. 

STOP AND SAY ‘HELLO:

Pickles, I’ll be in The Craftman’s Touch Books booth  this Saturday (March 1), signing copies of Mark Lipinski’s Quilter’s Home.   This is at the Mancuso show, called Quilt Fest New Jersey in Somerset, New Jersey.  Click here for directions and to read all about it. 

Meg Cox will also be there signing copies of her new book, so stop by! 

SPEAKING OF QUILTER’S HOME:

I want to show you the just completed cover for the May/June 2008 issue.  I think it’s a lot of fun – hanging upside down was not!  LOL

Click on the thumnail to see a full size version!   qhmayjune-finalcover.jpg

FINALLY:

I just got a bunch of new books that I want to share with you.  And don’t forget that I’m going debut 1 piece of my new line for Mark Lipinski Home for Northcott — califon!   So keep watching!  xoxom

FRIENDS AND FOES:

 You will die when you see the horribly hysterical Pickle Prize that was created and awarded to Randi on the Feathered Fibers blog!   Click here to see it (and make sure you swallow what you’re drinking first!).   If you click on the thumbnail of the award it gets much larger for even a bigger laugh! 

Knitting is Kneat-o’s blogtalks about using Katmandu fabric for a project that she has pictured.  Click here.

Here’s a Flickr entry that mentions my talk in Connecticut along with the most beautiul applique quilt called Ladies of the Sea.  Click here to see it!

 Needle Girl’s blog writes about her book on The Blog of Pickle RoadClick here to read it!

AllenQuilts blog’s cup runneth over.  She’s sweet (and talented)  Click here to read it.

A Peach in Stitches’ blog on February 20 talks about “fake cleaning her sewing room.  Click here to see it.

Categories: Uncategorized

Subscribe

Subscribe to our RSS feed and social profiles to receive updates.

15 Comments on “tues-day-on-pic-kle”

  1. Sue
    February 27, 2008 at 12:24 AM #

    Mark,

    We love Wegman’s too! We go to the one in Woodbridge every weekend. But just so you know, they are from Rochester, NY.

    See you on Saturday!

    Sue in NJ

    Yup, you’re right! I was thinking of Weis Supermarket (which is my second favorite LOL) oxoxm

    Like

  2. Robin
    February 27, 2008 at 1:40 AM #

    I love the cemetery pics. My parents have been known to take vacation to go explore cemeteries (looking for relatives) and bring home dozens of pictures of headstones (not always relatives). It just gave me a chuckle to see your pictures.

    I had a prof in college who used to do major rubbings of gravestones from all over the world. Weird but beautiful! xoxom

    Like

  3. mary kay
    February 27, 2008 at 1:52 AM #

    LOL. I was going to say the same thing Sue. But it is the best. I love me some Wegmans.

    mk

    Are all of the Wegman’s huge? xoxom

    Like

  4. February 27, 2008 at 3:48 AM #

    Mark–Thanks for the mini-vacation in one blog. I love all the photos and now want to jump on a plane and see the wonderful historic towns and get there early to have an apple turnover (maybe when there’s no snow though).

    Like

  5. Donna Barker
    February 27, 2008 at 4:52 AM #

    Hey Mark,

    Check out the Bunny Hill Blog. Lots of funny things to say about Quilter’s Home and Mark Lipinski. I saw it while checking out some other blogs.

    http://bunnyhill.blogspot.com/

    Donna

    Like

  6. ABB
    February 27, 2008 at 1:02 PM #

    You forgot to mention that Wegmans is really expensive too! Wish you guys had stopped by and picked me up to go to the museum with you 😦

    Can’t wait to see pics of Califon line! Strikes must be coming in soon, right?

    Old gravesite near my folks in Va and one of them is of a 5-6 yr old. It says, “She was the sunshine of our lives”. Gets me all teary-eyed. I also love “Gone but not forgotten”.

    Like

  7. Sue
    February 27, 2008 at 1:41 PM #

    Mark,

    All the Wegmans are Huge! I think ours is bigger than the Lowe’s across the street! I have also found their prices to be competitive, and the produce is excellent! Did you know they source from local farms whenever possible?

    Sue in NJ

    Like

  8. February 27, 2008 at 3:08 PM #

    Just chiming in from Rochester – and yes – all the newer Wegmans are HUGE! There are still a few smaller old ones left around here, but they are mostly being converted over. I’ve lived all over – and shopped at all sorts of places – but Wegmans remains by far my favorite. Their store brand on most things is great quality, too – at a great savings! Now if they would only start carrying fabric – it would be one stop shopping!!!

    Like

  9. February 27, 2008 at 9:16 PM #

    Did you HAVE to post all those yummy food pics??? I had to eat a tiny container of yogurt while drooling over those. 🙂

    Like

  10. Dee Safley
    February 27, 2008 at 9:58 PM #

    Just had to comment on two of your blogs: the first is the hair articles. My mother’s family is Catholic which goes back for a couple of hundred years. I have the original family Rosary made by one of the female members when she entered the convent. This was very common then.

    I saw your pics of the lox, which reminded me I want to go out in our boat this weekend (if it decides not to storm this weekend, LOL!) and go Salmon fishing. We usually smoke it or bake it with butter and brown sugar. I always love the way salmon looks, and your picture made me want to get out and go fishing. Thanks for the nudge.

    OMG, Dee! The rosary sounds amazing! I’d love to see it (watch, now I’ll be obsessed with finding one on eBay! LOL). I remember in the Catholic school some of the sisters making rosaries from olive pits (which for this Pittsburgh kid seemed very exotic)! You live near a place where you can fish for fresh salmon? Holy cats! The best I can get are the minnows from my koi pond! 🙂 xooxm

    Like

  11. February 28, 2008 at 12:25 AM #

    Just love your blog! Sorry I’m such a lurker 😦 Thanks so much for the great tour of a wonderful small town that I would probably have never seen! Keep up the great pics and info. The moon shot was funny and I should know better because the kids were sitting at the table behind me :0) Opps!! Think I scrolled before they saw it though. LOL
    Cindy in Mich.

    Like

  12. Tama
    February 28, 2008 at 7:59 AM #

    Mark, the best advice I ever got about orchids was to treat them with “benign neglect”. It works! People think they have to be fussed over but they kinda like to be left alone – watered when dry, decent light. I grew one from a baby and when it bloomed I was ecstatic. Then all the plants in that window got scale and I lost it, and then I got Buster and he eats plants so I haven’t gotten another orchid. He has kind of gotten over that so I’ll try again.

    Like

  13. February 28, 2008 at 11:14 AM #

    Wegman’s is definitely from Rochester, New York. When I lived there and they began doing the super store thing, we would take out of town visitors there for a field trip. There is one near the Rochester Institute of Technology and it was always fun watching the college kids on Saturday eating meals from all the samples then walking out with only a quart of milk!

    Like

  14. mary from utah
    February 28, 2008 at 2:33 PM #

    Cool road trip. Wegmens, you just gotta love it!! There is NOT another grocery store chain like it anywhere. I miss wegmans.
    mary

    Like

  15. KAK
    February 28, 2008 at 5:34 PM #

    Hey Mark! I’ve never heard of Wegmans. It’s not a southern store. But, I have made my share of Pinewood Derby cars for my boys in Cub scouts. And, we won a few local races. There’s a secret to where you place the weights. I actually can’t remember it now, b/c it’s been a while. But, once I discovered it, we were much happier with the results.

    And, as far Evan and the hearing aid batteries…. I thought that was normal teenage boys behavior. LOL communication and teenagers = oxymoron
    KAK

    Like

Leave a comment

The Duquesne Hunky

Growing Up in Duquesne, Pennsylvania

Mark Lipinski's Blog

Where creative people can be themselves. . . at last!

Ravensong's Ride

My 35,000 mile, 5 year Cross Country Journey.......

Quilt Alliance

Document - Preserve - Share