Creative Mojo Captivates! May 29, 2013

Mark2

Just log onto www.toginet.com for a brand-new,

LIVE, 2-hour

Creative Mojo with Mark Lipinski!

3 pm -5 pm EST    2 pm – 4 pm CST 1 pm – 3 pm MST    12 pm – 2 pm PST

Call in anytime during the live show with your questions or comments for my guests

(877) 864-4869

*****************

CLICK HERE to join Mark’s FACEBOOK Fan Page!

CLICK HERE to follow Mark’s Twitter updates!

CLICK HERE to join Mark’s Pickle Road Studio Posse on Yahoo! 

* * * * * *

News from Mark!

969157_10151437015935811_1696964621_n

upside

“I’m going to ease back into Creative Mojo again on June 5th when Kidney Mary and I host the show together. We’ll take your questions and advice and will spend a lot of time giving you the blow by blow, plus some wonderful guests.  xoxom”

* * * * * *

MEET MY GUEST HOST

Writer, Quilter, Craft Shop Owner, Scrapbooker, Genealogist

NESSA REIFSNYDER

Me1

About NESSA…

Fabricate-int1 Nessa is a memory artist, ranging across scrapbooking, small-scale quilting, decoupage, family history, and writing. She writes young-adult fiction, memoir essays, and poetry. She’s also written for various publications, including Mark Lipinski’s Christmas 365 and Mark Lipinski’s Fabric Trends. And she’s a pop culture maven who owns more than 5,000 vinyl LPs (K-Tels a specialty!) and collects 1960s/70s craft & design books, showbiz bios, Sears catalogs, and cookbooks. Nessa graduated from Bowdoin College dreaming of becoming a jazz deejay, but instead worked as a writer, designer, and editor for 22 years. She’s the proud mom of 4 children, ages 13 to 22, and the proud wife of Peter, a scientist who studies aging. Six male cats have the run of their house—and every Wednesday, while she’s taping Creative Mojo, Nessa needs a Production Assistant to keep the felines at bay!

Nessa co-owns Fabricate, a vibrant crafts shop on Mount Desert Island, Maine. She designs art quilts, scrapbooking papers and embellishments, and hopes to add textiles to this list soon.

Random things on Nessa’s mind this week:

Pinette-tree-1st

427356_10151453930348970_1440583161_n

(a poem from Nessa’s book, The Reporter Gene)

183070_10151595646203970_201171160_n

And one last excavation from the vinyl vault…

20130112-harrynilsson-600x-1358004907

CLICK HERE for Nessa’s website!

Nessa blogs HERE!

Nessa’s on TWITTER, FACEBOOK, and PINTEREST!

* * * * * *

MEET

Quilter, Designer, Author, Teacher

JERA BRANDVIG

headshot

About JERA…

Jera says, “My name is Jera Brandvig and I’m a quilter, fabric hoarder, mommy to a 16 month old boy and two short-legged-furrballs, wifey, teacher and soon to be author.  I started quilting 6 years ago because it was a good excuse to buy lots and lots of fabric. Once I started, I immediately got the quilting bug and found ways to get really creative with the craft. I started my blog (www.QuiltingintheRain.com) three years ago as my creative outlet, but mainly because I wanted to show people that quilting doesn’t have to be as daunting as it seems.  My quilting has evolved around my lifestyle. Once I had my son, I found myself quilting late at night where the last thing I should be doing is handling a rotary cutter and making precise cuts. From there I started a modern Quilt-as-you-Go technique, which allows you to break free from making precise cuts and following precise patterns, allowing you to truly tap into your inner creativity.  I teach classes on this technique in Seattle, and I am currently writing a book on it for Stashbooks.”

Jera’s designs make fabric sing and dance with joy!

photo 1 (5)20130103_102724

20130227_103416 20130227_103846

photo 1a20130227_105111-1 20130311_162940_HDR   photo 1

Jera blogs HERE!

Jera’s on FACEBOOK!

*******

MEET

Artist, Heavy Metal Quilter, Master Repurposer

BEN VENOM

318332762_640

About BEN…

Ben Venom graduated from the San Francisco Art Institute in 2007 with a Master of Fine Arts. He was recently interviewed on NPR: All Things Considered, included in the November 2011 issue of ARTFORUM Magazine, and was selected for Bay Area Now 6 at Yerba Buena Center for the Arts. His work has been shown both nationally and internationally including: Circle Culture Gallery (Germany), Wolverhapmton Gallery (England), Guerrero Gallery, Get This! Gallery, and the Honolulu Museum of Art. Mr. Venom has lectured at the California College of Art, Burnaway Organization, and the Frist Center. He is currently teaching classes in Printmaking at the Kala Art Institute and Workshop SF.

Ben says, “I’m interested in juxtaposing traditional handmade crafts with extreme elements found on the fringes of society. My work can be described as opposing forces colliding at lightning speed. Imagery found in vintage tattoos, the occult, and motorcycle gangs are stitched together with recycled materials using techniques usually relegated to your Grandmothers sewing circle. Serious, yet attempting to take on a B movie Horror film style where ridiculousness becomes genius. The question remains… Can I play with madness?”

Color…motion…culture…impact…

2

King of Kings
Hand-made Quilt, Heavy Metal T-Shirts, Fabric, Batting, Thread
75” x 75”
2012

8

Tools of the Trade
Hand-made Quilt, Heavy Metal T-Shirts, Bleached Denim, Leather
15” x 19”
2013

   9

No More Tears
Hand-made Quilt, Used Denim Jeans, Fabric, Batting, Thread
75” x 79”
2013

12

Pyramid Rider
Jean Jacket, Embroidery, Metal
Framed in custom fabricated Plexi Box
20” x 28”
2012

  7

Twist of Fate
Hand-made Quilt, Heavy Metal T-Shirts, Bleached Denim, Leather
15” x 19”
2013

11

Iron Hand
Jean Jacket, Embroidery, Metal
Framed in custom fabricated Plexi Box
20” x 28”
2012

5

Skull Kontrol
Hand-made Quilt, Heavy Metal T-Shirts, Fabric, Batting, Thread
17” x 25”
2012

6

the Key to Success
Hand-made Quilt, Heavy Metal T-Shirts, Bleached Denim, Leather
15” x 19”
2013

4

Night Lurker
Hand-made Quilt, Heavy Metal T-shirts, Fabric, Batting, Thread
19” x 27”
2012

3

Radar Love
Hand-made Quilt, Heavy Metal T-Shirts, Fabric, Batting, Thread
81” x 39”
2012

10

Wherever I May Roam
Hand-made Quilt, Bleached Denim, Leather, Fabric, Batting, Thread
55” x 55”
2013

1

See You on the Other Side
Hand-made Quilt, Heavy Metal T-Shirts, Fabric, Batting, Thread
155” x 175”
2011

CLICK HERE for Ben’s website!

Ben blogs HERE!

Ben’s NPR interview is HERE!

Ben’s on INSTAGRAM!

*******

MEET

Playwright, Novelist, Screenwriter, Teacher

MICHAEL KIMBALL

MK-SMIL2

About MICHAEL…

MK-PROFLMichael Kimball is a novelist, playwright, and screenwriter. His novel Undone received the Fresh Talent Award in the U.K. and remained on the London Times’ top ten bestseller list for two months in 1996. Stage plays include Ghosts of Ocean House, nominated for the 2007 Edgar Award by the Mystery Writers of America, and the award-winning short play Say No More, which has been produced by more than 25 companies across the country. Michael has sold original screenplays and adaptations to movie companies and written episodes for television series. Michael teaches popular fiction and scriptwriting at the Stonecoast MFA in Creative Writing Program, in Maine. His new play DUCK AND COVER was recently given the BEST PLAY award at the Northern Writes Festival in Bangor. The play premiered in February at the West End Studio Theater, in Portsmouth, NH, and on Thursday, May 30 it opens at the Acorn Studio Theater in Westbrook, ME, and runs through Sunday, June 9th.

Mike Kimball, York, Maine. October 20, 2004. Ralph MorangAbout his teaching style, Mike says: “‘One good thing after another,’ that’s what writing should be, according to novelist James Salter, and it’s been the keystone to my philosophy since I made writing my career 25 years ago.  When I read another writer’s work-in-progress, I do the same kind of line-editing as I do on my own pages, with two important differences: 1) I point out things I like; 2) I write margin notes explaining my edits.

I may question a word choice or suggest juxtaposing elements; I always look for non-essentials that can be cut. Structurally, if I sense a writer repeating, lingering, or avoiding crisis points, I’ll point it out, as I will point out other tendencies that may be problematic. Are the stakes high enough so your hero cannot simply walk away from a conflict? Do we care enough for your characters so that we don’t walk away? Is your story credible within the parameters of the world you’ve created? Maybe your premise needs more fuel. Are you going deep enough into your imagination?

In sharing strategies and insights that I’ve learned—and that I continue to learn—I try my hardest to help other writers reach the goal that I set for my own writing: ‘One good thing after another.'”

Novels:

9780062040831_p0_v1_s260x42051HV9517WCL__SL500_AA300_

41JWZT8T3QLfwp_frnt

Green Girls (2002, Morrow) Also published in England and Germany

Mouth to Mouth (2000, Avon Books) Also published in England, Germany, and Spain, 3 US book clubs, 2 UK Book clubs; Recorded Books

Undone (1996, Avon Books) 13 other publishers worldwide; bestseller in England and Ireland; 3 US book clubs, 2 UK book clubs, French book club; movie options: Crossroads Films

Firewater Pond (1985, Putnam’s Sons) Also published in Sweden; Film options: Charles Matthau, NBC

Stage Plays:

528274_10151432955364360_1212187967_n309061_10150318381389360_1049247245_n

I Fall for You–seven short plays about love & romance (2009)

The Secret of Comedy (2007)

Best Enemies (2006)

Ghosts of Ocean House (2006)

Santa Come Home (2005)

Submit! — co-written with Jennifer Saunders (2009)

Actual Glass–30-min monologue for one woman (2007)

Mike’s latest play opens tomorrow!

duck and cover PORTLAND

DuckCover

CLICK HERE for info on DUCK AND COVER!

Michael’s on FACEBOOK!

******

MEET

Quilter, Designer, Seamstress, Crafter

LEILA B

Leila

About LEILA…

Leila says, “Hi my name is Leila and I blog at Where the Orchids Grow.

It’s safe to say I love to sew! I learned to sew on an old Singer treadle that lived in my bedroom when I was a little girl. I started making quilts in 2004 when I was pregnant with my boy. I made three not so terrific quilts and quickly lost interest in the patterns and fabrics that were available to me at the time. That was until I discovered modern quilting blogs in 2010, I was so inspired I could not help but sew and quilt and sew some more. I haven’t stopped since!

I enjoy creating pretty things for every day use quilts, cushions, bags, a bit of garment sewing and much more. I love paper piecing, modern Japanese fabric designs, text fabrics mixed with florals, linen, vintage and Liberty. I’m most happy rummaging through my small stash pairing up stacks of impossible unusual fabric combinations. Occasionally I’ll venture out and do some crochet or knitting.”

Leila’s works are bright, texty, modern whimsy!

+ & x quilt white picket fence patchwork bag organizers all logcabin cushion Liberty slippers Green Tea flex pouch AMH quilt

Leila blogs HERE!

CLICK HERE for Leila’s shop!

Leila is on FLICKR!

**************

And when your MOJO listening’s done. . .

If you’ve never used Auriful Thread. . .

. . .  then you haven’t really sewn!

Why not start off with my BASICS ?

Go to my web site to order YOUR collection — CLICK HERE TO GET STARTED.

Been Fly-ing Lately?

Your projects will soar with my new fabric line for Andover Fabrics, I CAN FLY!

14168_10151093835240811_903170274_n

374872_10151093872715811_1633512665_n

Many thanks to Nessa Reifsnyder of Fabricate, for assistance with Mark Lipinski’s Blog!

teablog

Listen to a re-broadcast of all of my shows by CLICKING HERE.

You can also subscribe to Creative Mojo at iTunes.com!

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Categories: 1

Subscribe

Subscribe to our RSS feed and social profiles to receive updates.

No comments yet.

Leave a comment

The Duquesne Hunky

Growing Up in Duquesne, Pennsylvania

Mark Lipinski's Blog

Where creative people can be themselves. . . at last!

Ravensong's Ride

My 35,000 mile, 5 year Cross Country Journey.......

Quilt Alliance

Document - Preserve - Share