July 4th Felt Wreath! Garden Apron! Sewing Machine Cover! Crocheted Valance! Patriotic Candle Cans! Free Embroidery! Plus Recipes, Jokes, Art & Memories


images-1

PLEASE SUBSCRIBE so you don’t miss a thing

 

YOKE DU YOUR

A redhead tells her blonde stepsister, “I slept with a Brazilian . . .”

The blonde replies, “Oh my God! You hoochie! How many is a brazilian?”  javier-brosch-funny-dog-brazil….”

ARTspiration

Artists or art that turns me on and feeds my muse! Like it or dislike it, what about this art inspires your own art or creativity? By artist, Thomas Kennington.

63e4d0c7db91d892903bba1573a4576d

 

DESIGNspiration

Look around you. Design is everywhere! How can you incorporate the beauty that surrounds you into your art or craft? Building facade. 7f349e0243b693802c9f2f2b815f8ed1

IDEA I LOVE

If you have an extra 15 minutes, you can have your sewing machine covered with a cover that you actually make! Grab some pretty fabric from your stash, read this tutorial, and start to create the machine cover of your dreams! Here is where you begin:

15 Minute Sewing Machine Cover Tutorial

cover-end-shot-real

IDEA I LOVE

All you need is your crochet book and some thread and you can create your own Flower Power Valance!   don’t let this project intimidate you. It is as simple as crocheting granny square. All you do is make your elements then stitch them together. And it really dresses up a window or a doorway for a bulletin board… Here’s the pattern:

http://onceuponapinkmoon.blogspot.com/2013/05/flower-power-valance-tutorial.html

DSC08004

flw1

DSC08036

IDEA I LOVE

These red white and blue candle  cans are so easy to make, so easy to light, and so perfect for the upcoming weekend, that you have to make a bunch! What I like about these verses other candle lighting options is that they are relatively safe to use outdoors without having to worry too much about starting a fire in your neighborhood, which is a whole lot of fun. Kind of puts a damper on things. That said, whenever you are using a flame outside the hyper vigilant. Here’s how you make these rocking’ lanterns:

http://socialcouture.typepad.com/tabletalk/2010/06/accessorize-your-backyard.html#more

6a00e00998c5c888330134851a3588970c

 

 

OMG!!!

I don’t know about you, but I’d feel just a little uncomfortable bending over these red butts for a simple hand washing. I guess creativity comes in all shapes and forms, but I think I might have to pass on cleaning up here…

9ff0f6c5091bcaad95163cf70efa8c47

YUM

My family loves traditional pork barbecue served over mashed potatoes. I swapped the pork for chicken in honor of the delicious chicken barbecue my childhood church used to serve at its annual fundraiser. I also love cornbread and think that this yummy chicken is even better when served with a slice.—Angela Spengler, Clovis, New Mexico

exps112767_SSCM2468858B01_11_3b

 SOUTHERN SHREDDED BBQ CHICKEN

Ingredients

  • 4 pounds bone-in chicken breast halves, skin removed
  • 1 can (10-3/4 ounces) condensed tomato soup, undiluted
  • 1/2 cup packed brown sugar
  • 1/2 cup cider vinegar
  • 1-1/2 teaspoons chili powder
  • 1 teaspoon salt
  • 1 teaspoon celery seed
  • 1 teaspoon soy sauce
  • 1/4 teaspoon cayenne pepper
  • CORN BREAD:
  • 1 cup all-purpose flour
  • 1 cup yellow cornmeal
  • 2 tablespoons sugar
  • 2 teaspoons baking powder
  • 1/4 teaspoon salt
  • 2 eggs
  • 1 cup 2% milk
  • 6 tablespoons butter, melted, divided

Directions

  1. Place chicken in a 4-qt. slow cooker. In a small bowl, combine the tomato soup, brown sugar, vinegar, chili powder, salt, celery seed, soy sauce and cayenne. Pour over chicken. Cover and cook on low for 6-8 hours or until tender.
  2. In a large bowl, combine the flour, cornmeal, sugar, baking powder and salt. Combine the eggs, milk and 4 tablespoons butter; stir into dry ingredients just until combined.
  3. Pour into a greased 8-in. square baking pan. Bake at 350° for 18-20 minutes or until a toothpick inserted near the center comes out clean. Drizzle remaining butter over warm bread.
  4. Remove chicken from slow cooker. When cool enough to handle, remove meat from bones; discard bones. Shred meat with two forks; return to slow cooker. Using a slotted spoon, the chicken over corn bread. Yield: 6 servings.

Source: http://www.tasteofhome.com/recipes/southern-shredded-bbq-chicken#ixzz364FUqBY7

IDEA I LOVE

This is a Northcott Flower of the Month pattern, but I’m pretty sure those flowers have wilted and are no longer printed.  I could be wrong and, better yet, you may have this collection in your stash.   Here’s a pattern you can use with your own colors and fabrics to create something wonderful.  Thanks, Northcott!  Thanks, Ro Gregg!  Heres’ the PDF pattern:

Click to access FOM_FinalPattern1.pdf

flwrmnt

 

WORDS TO LIVE BY

c257d2482960abf48eab6e7d08789cac

IDEA I LOVE

For all I know, you might be working on the mother of all crazy quilts or embroidery projects. Here is a website that I found that is giving away several free, very traditional, embroidery patterns. Why not click over and grab a few for your files just in case… Here is where you go:

http://broderieantan.canalblog.com/archives/2014/05/21/29915654.html

96323533_o

96323565_o

By the way, have you checked out.Slow Stitching Movement?  Here’s a link to the website:  http://www.slowstitching.com

MEMBA?

When  magazine used to publish their annual 100 Ideas for under $100 issue.   This issue is from  July 1971 – which is when $100 actually bought your something!!

!B1uqJ8g!mk~$(KGrHqMOKiEE)RGChR8EBMfpuS12rQ~~_35

DESSERT!

A timeless cookie recipe that should have never been forgotten, these delightful sweet molasses cookies are a blast from the past. Mixed with cinnamon and sugar, they are baked golden brown for a chewy, sugary delight. Dust off the recipe card, and make them for your family tonight.


500x375x21aa8b2a991fd3e07646b96ddad51fb7muddys_cookieday07.jpg.pagespeed.ic.YQ9RXAH0eY

FORGOTTEN MOLASSES COOKIES

Ingredients

  • 6 cups all-purpose flour
  • 1 teaspoon baking powder
  • 1 1/2 teaspoon ginger
  • 1/2 teaspoon cinnamon
  • 1 teaspoon salt
  • 1 cup lard
  • 2 cups brown sugar
  • 3 eggs
  • 1 cup dark molasses
  • 1 teaspoon baking soda
  • 1 1/2 cup hot water
Instructions
  1. Preheat oven to 375 degrees F.
  2. Combine first 4 ingredients and mix well cream together lard and brown sugar.
  3. Add eggs 1 at a time beating well after each addition.
  4. Stir in molasses. Stir in the first 4 ingredients and then add the combined soda and water. Mix thoroughly.
  5. Drop by heaping teaspoonfuls onto greased baking sheets and sprinkle with granulated sugar.
  6. Bake for 8-10 min. Makes about 8 dozen.

Source: www.recipelion.com/Cookies-and-Bars/Forgotten-Molasses-Cookies#afo3YkQEx1bmB5cP.99 

IDEA I LOVE

I really do love this patriotic wreath, to celebrate July 4, that is made simply from craft store felt squares. It’s pretty easy to make, especially if you have a rotary cutter! I can’t wait to see how yours turns out, cupcake! Start here:

http://www.creativecapitalb.com/2012/02/ruffled-patriotic-wreath-tutorial.html

Ruffled Patriotic Wreath white balance edit

 

BUT WAIT!  THERE’S MORE!

SIGN UP TODAY!

ENCORE! DON’T MISS IT this time around!

On Thursday, July 10 from 1 until 2:15-ish PM EST, I will be giving an ENCORE and LIVE presentation of The Slow Stitching Webinar! And, of course, and there will be a LIVE response to all of your questions and comments about Slow Stitching. Sign up today and see what all the buzz has been about, how to get unstuck, and how to ramp your patchwork up a notch for your own, physical, emotional, creative, spiritual and financial benefit.

Can’t make this time either? Sign up and a copy of the webinar will be sent to you so you can watch and listen at your own leisure! xoxom

CLICK HERE FOR MORE INFORMATION:

http://www.shopfonsandporter.com/product/Mark-Lipinski-Presents-The-Slow-Stitching-Movement-Creating-Promoting-and-Sustaining-a-New-Vision-in-Quiltmaking/web-seminars

DPWNR61914-1

MUST HAVE

Where’s my Margarita and slushy iced coffee at?  Yinz haven’t lived until you swig dahn a really good slushy a’nat. (If you’re wondering what I’m saying, it’s a Pittsburgh thing.  You wouldn’t understand).  I think I really need one of these. I’m having all kinds of puréed slushy watermelon  and vodka fantasies!

shopping

http://www.bedbathandbeyond.com/store/product/zoku-slush-and-shake-maker/3248594?device=c&network=g&matchtype=&mcid=PS_googlepla_nonbrand_none_&gclid=CJXTztuJoL8CFXMR7AodFzMACA

SHOEspiration

Anchors away, cupcake! You got a love shoes with a sense of humor like these Charlotte Olympia, Fall 2014 suckers.

534

 

IDEA I LOVE

You know how much you hate looking like Ma Kettle after spend your daily 15-minutes weeding your garden.   Here’s a solution.  Make this tidy and colorful little gardener’s apron.  You’ll always look fresh for the delivery man!

cute-delivery-man

Here’s the pattern:

How To Sew An Apron – A Gardening Apron Tutorial by Knot Sew Normal

garden-apron-tutorial-047

 

THIS IS NEW: 

I want to try something and I would really like your input on it.

For the past year or so, I have been posting links on my Mark Lipinski’s Fan Page on Facebook. Of course, in its never ending quest to make lots of money, Facebook cares less about you and me and more about cash in spite of the fact they have more money than they know what to do with. As a result, those of you who have been faithful readers of the Fan Page have been removed, time and time again, from getting any of my posts onto your timeline feed. The reason is, Facebook would like me to pay money every day in order to advertise and lure readers like you, to the Fan Page. Otherwise, only about 5% of people who clicked LIKE on the Fan Page are actually seeing anything I post — and it could be random.  Basically, it sucks for all of us.

I think we would all be better served if I posted my tips, ideas, links, and jokes, etc. to my blog.

You can subscribe to my blog and get an email every time I post a grouping of ideas, links, etc.

I’M NOT shutting down my Facebook Fan Page. What I am doing is putting everything that used to be on the Fan Page individually on my blog, AND there will be a daily link to the idea blog on the Fan Page, just as there were multiple links to the various blogs that I’ve always linked to in the past. It’s not that different, really. It will save me a lot of time, and guarantee those who want to see the creative posts will actually get to see them. And Facebookers, will STILL have to click on “GET NOTIFICATIONS” if they want to see what I post on Facebook. Is that more clear?

Actually, this way gives you TWO ways to get all of the ideas, etc. PLUS you can PIN them and they will be TAGGED so you can find them again in the search bar!  — through the FACEBOOK FAN PAGE  and YOUR CHOICE (not mandatory) to subscribe to the bLog and get email postings that way.

Well, I think it’s worth a shot at least in the short term, let’s see what happens…

 


comment-here-with-mackied

Categories: 1

Subscribe

Subscribe to our RSS feed and social profiles to receive updates.

9 Comments on “July 4th Felt Wreath! Garden Apron! Sewing Machine Cover! Crocheted Valance! Patriotic Candle Cans! Free Embroidery! Plus Recipes, Jokes, Art & Memories”

  1. June 30, 2014 at 3:08 AM #

    Thank you so much for sharing my Garden Apron! I just love your blog!

    Like

    • June 30, 2014 at 5:47 AM #

      Thank you! You actually shared it. I’m just passing it around! xoxom

      Like

  2. Donna Bularz
    June 30, 2014 at 4:15 AM #

    I love getting these emails with everything in!! I don’t miss posts:)

    Like

  3. Jennie
    June 30, 2014 at 4:30 AM #

    I love the postings on the Blog! I knew I was missing seeing stuff on the FB page, but I didn’t realize how much I was missing!!

    Like

  4. Gerry
    June 30, 2014 at 5:29 AM #

    Love this new method of getting a regularly scheduled creative fix! Please continue to visit my mailbox!

    Like

  5. June 30, 2014 at 5:36 AM #

    Love having you send me my very personal email instead of going to Facebook! Yes, I know you send it out to thousands but it does seem more personal this way! I like it.

    Like

  6. Stephanie Gilbertson
    June 30, 2014 at 6:04 AM #

    I prefer the email blog method, Mark. FaceBook is too cluttered and disorganized these days to take time to savor an idea.

    Like

  7. Gina
    June 30, 2014 at 11:51 AM #

    I love getting your blog in my in-box! I have my own love/hate relationship with FB….

    Like

  8. Char Baker
    June 30, 2014 at 11:13 PM #

    FB is just an annoying tool I use to easily keep in contact with my friends from all of the place. I love seeing the things you find and share. Keep ’em coming, please and thank you!

    Like

Leave a comment

The Duquesne Hunky

Growing Up in Duquesne, Pennsylvania

Mark Lipinski's Blog

Where creative people can be themselves. . . at last!

Ravensong's Ride

My 35,000 mile, 5 year Cross Country Journey.......

Quilt Alliance

Document - Preserve - Share