If You Don’t Make Time for Creativity, Who Will?


Have fun with your vision and your imagination by not allowing the craziness of the day slip buy without having invested some time for the creation of your particular brand of artistry.

Don’t worry about where your aesthetic journey will take you, just plan to accomplish a little or dream up a lot – the point is to do something imaginative today, even one tiny thing, to stimulate your senses and to open and explore the myriad sources of your talent.

It’s so easy for those of us who visualize ‘project ideas” and stimulation and inspiration in everything we see, to become sidetracked from just jumping into our intuitive imaginations and working on our projects at hand, just a little at a time. You may have so many different projects going on simultaneously that you could feel overwhelmed and unable to choose just one to work on.  Know that that’s just a distraction you’ve conjured up for yourself and it’s blocking you form moving forward and taking care of yourself.

If you’re like me, you might find yourself not wanting to stop your day to sit down and work on your art unless you have a large enough block of time to conceive or complete something significant. I often find myself tangled in the self-sabotaging trap of “if I don’t have 2 or 3 free hours to devote to my craft, then what’s the point of even getting involved?”  I know it’s a bogus excuse.  You know it’s a bogus excuse.  But it works every time and that kind of rationalization distracts us from our realizing our crafty potential.

There is the creative type who “needs” in order to engage and produce.  Without a specific brand of material, or without having to own the entire set of paints, line of fabric, a complete set of rubber stamps, every color of and strip of wool for hooking, a gazillion beads, they put off their ideas and block their creative development, until they have searched for and acquired everything they think they need for their project from start to finish.  But having the tools doesn’t create the art.  And this type of dreamer is just wrestling with another distracting block.

Whatever you find is stopping your from taking some time for yourself, to nurture your growth as an artist and craftsperson, be it time, supplies, over- or under-stimulation, simply recognize it for what it is and get to work.

Don’t buy anything new.  You don’t have to plan hours of creative time, plan minutes.  Pick up an old project or start something new.  Allowing your creativity to come out to play a little everyday is as important as what you eat, how you sleep, and the air that you breathe.

Even the smallest daily recognition of your artistry will open your eyes and allow you to see the world around you with a fresh view.  It will heal what may be hurting you.  It will assist you in focusing and removing yourself from the hectic life you’ve been living.  It will you develop a stronger footing in the world, and change a sour attitude to an optimistic one.

Just a few minutes of creating today, and just a few minutes of allowing yourself the time to createevery day, can and will absolutely change your life.

      I hope you enjoy my creative thoughts for hobbyists and crafters. I post new blog thought entries every Monday, Tuesday, Thursday, and Friday. Wednesday’s are reserved for Creative Mojo with Mark Lipinski’s guests and new creative personalities that you’ll want to know and learn about. Of course, I sprinkle things happening on Pickle Road throughout the week.

I invite you to subscribe to this blog by clicking the button on the left side of this post. Also, why not share my posts with your creative friends and co-workers by clicking on any of the share links? If something really resonates with you, print it out and tack it to your bulletin board or tape it to the wall of your creative space, sewing or craft room as a gentle reminder that you can re-read!

As always, I love to hear about your creative life, wins and challenges! Leave a comment here or email me at CreativeMojo@me.com. Create and laugh through this week. And , as always, always do what you love! xoxom

The art I used for today’s post was found on Etsy!

 CLICK HERE to purchase a print of this art or to see other pieces of this artist’s work!


Categories: 1

Subscribe

Subscribe to our RSS feed and social profiles to receive updates.

8 Comments on “If You Don’t Make Time for Creativity, Who Will?”

  1. Ida
    August 15, 2011 at 6:05 AM #

    This goes hand in hand with practice, practice, practice. I think you are dead on, Mark! We need that little spark, no matter how small, each day to keep our creative juices flowing. If not, we will dry up.

    Like

  2. August 15, 2011 at 6:31 AM #

    “Allowing your creativity to come out to play a little everyday is as important as what you eat, how you sleep, and the air that you breathe.”
    Amen. Some time ago I came to the conclusion that if my art was that important to me — and it is — then surely I could devote 2 measly hours out of 24 to my needlework. So I do — 2 hours of stitching every day unless I’m ill. Housework, the internet, TV shows, etc. can all wait until I’m done with my stitching.

    Like

  3. August 15, 2011 at 7:30 AM #

    I like to say “a seam a day, the quilt gets finished that way.” Corny, I know, but it is a good reminder. I have said this before, but I think that leaving a project in place where you know exactly what to do next or have some rote sewing or pressing fabric or something really helps get me in the mood to do more. Just getting started is often the hardest part, but doing a little every day is very helpful.
    Jaye
    http://artquiltmaker.com/blog

    Like

  4. Geri
    August 15, 2011 at 9:50 AM #

    Mark, I do believe you have been looking over my shoulder. I copied this one and hung it in my sewing room. Thanks, I needed that!

    Like

  5. opal cocke
    August 15, 2011 at 3:40 PM #

    Thank you Mark. You have said what I believe with such beautiful words. I have copied it to share with my guild.

    Like

  6. August 18, 2011 at 9:48 AM #

    A little creativity each day – perfect! I was feeling rather apathetic about life in general yesterday. Last night I sat down with my new glaze and metallic pens and worked on a zen mandala. It carried me away, let me play with colors and shapes, and got me back into a creative spirit.

    Like

  7. Tara
    August 22, 2011 at 5:03 PM #

    OMG, you’ve been spying on me! Everything you described I live on a daily basis. I have time to take care of everyone else in my family, but what I want to do always takes a back seat (plus I never have all the accessories I need to finish a quilt…). BTW, I thought it (do something creative everyday) was a book title…. doofus that I am, I even went to Amazon to look…. so take that to heart, and WRITE it into a BOOK! Thanks for the laughs and inspriration.

    Like

  8. Bethany
    August 26, 2011 at 1:56 AM #

    Thank you for this. I stumbled across your blog, while searching for a website to tell me how to find time for creativity and this was just what I needed. I have three boys under age 4 and I have been looking wistfully at my sewing and crafting room ever since my baby was born. I feel like you just gave me permission to take ten minutes and do something I love simply because I love doing it. This may be just what I need to snap me out of my typical PPD funk. Thank you thank you thank you and bless you!!

    Like

Leave a comment

The Duquesne Hunky

Growing Up in Duquesne, Pennsylvania

Mark Lipinski's Blog

Where creative people can be themselves. . . at last!

Ravensong's Ride

My 35,000 mile, 5 year Cross Country Journey.......

Quilt Alliance

Document - Preserve - Share